Follow Us on Twitter

Poor Cow - Preview

Poor Cow

Preview by Jack Foley

STUDIOCANAL and The Independent Cinema Office are delighted to announce that a newly restored version of Ken Loach’s classic 1967 feature debut, Poor Cow, will be released on Blu-ray and DVD on Monday, July 25, 2016.

Following on from his hard-hitting work in television, including Cathy Come Home and Up the Junction, Poor Cow brought Loach’s unique, uncompromising style to a big screen audience and helped kick start a new movement in social realist filmmaking.

Ken Loach has gone on to direct countless highly acclaimed films that include Kes and Sweet Sixteen. He has won numerous awards including the Palme d’Or for The Wind That Shakes the Barley and both the BAFTA and BFI Fellowship Awards.

Poor Cow will be available on DVD and Blu-ray from July 25 on the Vintage Classics label, including brand new extras.

In a gritty 1960s London, Joy (Carol White – Cathy Come Home) is a young mother who is forced to fend for herself when her brutal and uncaring husband, Tom (John Bindon – Barry Lyndon, Get Carter), is put in jail.

The film follows Joy as she searches for a glimpse of happiness, when she comes into contact with Tom’s seemingly caring associate Dave (Terence Stamp, Far From The Madding Crowd, The Limey) whilst raising her son alone in squalid circumstances.

The DVD and Blu-ray extras include new interviews with Loach, Stamp and Dunn.

Win Poor Cow on DVD

To celebrate the release of Poor Cow on DVD on Monday, July 25, 2016, IndieLondon is offering readers the chance to win 1 of 3 copies on DVD. Simply answer the following question…

Q. In what year did Ken Loach make his directorial debut with Poor Cow?

Simply send the answer to Poor Cow competition and include your name, address, telephone number and email

Reckless - Preview

Reckless

Preview by Jack Foley

RECKLESS is out now on Digital and comes to DVD ON Monday, July 25, 2016, from Arrow Films. To support the release, we have a copy on DVD to giveaway.

The thriller stars Patrick Wilson, Lena Headey, Ray Winstone, Richard Dreyfuss, Dianna Agron and John Cho.

Sam Ellis (Patrick Wilson – The Conjuring, Fargo) is a man on the rise – a hotshot federal prosecutor on the cusp of a bright political future with a beautiful and ambitious wife (Lena Heady – Game of Thrones).

But what was meant to be a one-time experience with a high-end escort instead turns into a growing addiction.

His moral compass unravelling, his new demon threatens to destroy his life, family and career, especially as Coaker (Ray Winstone), a seasoned hack and old family acquaintance, suspects his extra-marital exploits and plans to expose him.

Buy it now

Win Reckless on DVD

To celebrate the release of Reckless on DVD on Monday, July 25, 2016, IndieLondon is offering readers the chance to win 1 copy on DVD. Simply answer the following question…

Q. What is the name of Ray Winstone’s character in Reckless?

Simply send the answer to Reckless competition and include your name, address, telephone number and email

Absolute Beginners: 30th Anniversary Edition - Preview

Absolute Beginners

Preview by Jack Foley

STARRING the legendary David Bowie, along with his renowned title track, cult 80s musical Absolute Beginners, one of the most ambitious homegrown productions of the decade, celebrates its 30th Anniversary with a brand new restoration and the first ever UK Blu-ray release thanks to Second Sight.

Helmed by renowned British director Julien Temple (The Filth and the Fury), this impressive production based on Colin MacInnes’ revered novel, is brought to the big screen in a lavish musical adaptation.

Featuring an all-star cast including Patsy Kensit (<>Grace of My Heart), Eddie O’Connell (Sexy Beast), James Fox (Patriot Games), Steven Berkoff (Octopussy) and Smooth Operator Sade, the film gets the high definition treatment with a brand new Blu-ray release which will be available on July 25, 2016 alongside a DVD version.

Set against a backdrop of emerging teen culture and rising racial tension in late 1950s London, Absolute Beginners follows the plight of struggling young photographer Colin (O’Connell), who sees his ambitious, fame-seeking girlfriend Crepe Suzette (Kensit) slipping away as she ruthlessly pursues a career in fashion. To win her back he needs to compromise his idealism and do whatever it takes to make the big time.

This astounding piece of filmmaking features sumptuous sets and an outstanding soundtrack featuring the likes of Ray Davies, The Style Council, Sade, Jerry Dammers, Slim Gaillard, Gill Evans and Working Week.

Win Absolute Beginners: 30th Anniversary Edition on DVD

To celebrate the release of Absolute Beginners: 30th Anniversary Edition on DVD and Blu-ray on Monday, July 25, 2016, IndieLondon is offering readers the chance to win 1 of 3 copies on DVD. Simply answer the following question…

Q. Who directs David Bowie in Absolute Beginners: 30th Anniversary Edition?

Simply send the answer to Absolute Beginners competition and include your name, address, telephone number and email

Win Kung Fu Panda 3 on Blu-ray

Kung Fu Panda 3

Twentieth Century Fox Home Entertainment releases DreamWorks Animation’s Kung Fu Panda 3 Awesome Edition on Blu-ray and DVD on July 11, 2016.

After reuniting with his long-lost father, Po travels to a secret village and meets tons of hilarious new panda friends and family members.

But when the supernatural villain Kai challenges all the Kung Fu masters across China, Po must discover the teacher within himself and train his clumsy brethren to become the ultimate band of Kung Fu Pandas!

From Academy Award nominated director, Jennifer Yuh Nelson (Kung Fu Panda 2) and Alessandro Carloni (How to Train Your Dragon), Kung Fu Panda 3 features the voice talents of Golden Globe nominee Jack Black, two-time Academy Award winner Dustin Hoffman, Academy and Golden Globe award winner Angelina Jolie, Academy and Golden Globe award winner, JK Simmons, Jackie Chan, Seth Rogen, Lucy Liu, David Cross, Golden Globe Award winner and Academy Award nominee Kate Hudson and James Hong.

Kick off the summer holidays with the Kung Fu Panda 3 Awesome Edition on Blu-ray, DVD and Digital HD. Featuring more fun, funny and action packed bonus features including 2 all new Kung Fu Panda animated shorts, Everybody Loves A Panda Party Karaoke with Po, Make a Panda Party Paper Pal and more.

Read our interview

To celebrate the release of Kung Fu Panda 3 on Blu-ray and DVD on Monday, July 11, 2016, IndieLondon is offering readers the chance to win 1 of 2 copies on Blu-ray. Simply answer the following question…

Q. Who plays Po’s father in Kung Fu Panda 3 (Clue, the answer is in our Jack Black interview)?

A) Dustin Hoffman
B) Bryan Cranston
C) Ian McShane

Simply send the answer to Kung Fu Panda 3 competition and include your name, address, telephone number and email

High-Rise (Tom Hiddleston) - DVD Review

High Rise

Review by Rob Carnevale

IndieLondon Rating: 2.5 out of 5

JG Ballard’s 1975 novel High-Rise has long been considered one of the great un-filmable works – and watching Ben Wheatley’s adaptation, it’s easy to see why.

Consistently intriguing, yet deeply flawed (particularly on that all important emotional level), Wheatley’s film ends up achieving honourable failure status. But it’s not for the want of trying.

In novel form, Ballard’s work was always intended as a commentary on the divide between the rich and the poor, which is evidenced in the tower block that serves as the main character. It’s a dwelling of the future where the rich occupy the top floors and party hard, often at the expense of the lower classes below, whose existence becomes increasingly marred by power cuts that inevitably raise tensions and lead to rebellion.

Caught in the middle, almost literally, is Dr Laing, a new resident who makes acquaintances on both sides. Courted by the building’s architect, Anthony Royal, and seduced by one of its more decadent occupants living immediately above, Charlotte Melville, he also shares sympathies with the aggressive filmmaker, Wilder, who lives underneath and who fans the flames of revolution whenever opportunity or resentment allows.

Almost inevitably, violence erupts and people perish. But there are no easy resolutions, merely madness.

And therein lies one of the main problems in adapting the book to film. While its themes certainly resonant today (maybe even more strongly than they did in the ’70s), the trippy way in which the story unfolds and its necessary descent into paranoia, decadence and madness is somewhat alienating.

Wheatley is never one to shy away from violence or disturbing imagery, as past work such as Kill List will attest. But here he goes into overdrive, delivering many of the scenes in an almost hallucinatory fashion without allowing audiences to engage on an emotional level.

Hence, while the film looks good, it’s a cold, sometimes impenetrable affair that frustrates more than it entertains – and that’s despite a high quality cast who deliver excellent performances.

Hiddleston is, as ever, on fine form as Dr Laing – outwardly charismatic, a la The Night Manager, yet inwardly hostile and even creepy. He’s a self-serving anti-hero who becomes more and more distanced from reality [and audiences] the longer the film progresses. But Hiddleston, adding another notch to an increasingly impressive bow, delivers the journey in compelling fashion.

Jeremy Irons is suitably Machiavellian as Royal, Sienna Miller outrageously flirtatious as Melville and Luke Evans as aggressive and livewire as his Wilder suggests. But, again, there are times when Wheatley’s trippy visual style hampers the performances, seldom allowing a scene to really settle.

If anything, Wheatley sometimes feels a little too indebted to the ’70s and its style of filmmaking, with the likes of Kubrick’s A Clockwork Orange looming a little too large over proceedings here. Certainly, High-Rise ends up feeling just as confrontational and equally as polarising as that seminal work.

Watch the trailer

Certificate: 15
Running time: 114mins
UK Blu-ray and DVD Release: July 18, 2016

London Has Fallen - DVD Preview

London Has Fallen

Preview by Jack Foley

FOLLOWING the global success of Olympus Has Fallen, Mike Banning is back and he’s bringing his Presidential bro-mance to Blighty as London Has Fallen explodes onto digital platforms on July 11, 2016 and onto Blu-ray & DVD from July 18, 2016, courtesy of Lionsgate Home Entertainment.

Another year, another city, another threat to President Benjamin Asher’s life… When a terrifying plot comes to light during a State Visit to London, Secret Service muscle and all-round tough guy Mike Banning must once again do whatever it takes to rescue his beloved POTUS – and the free world.

On foreign turf and with seemingly no-one he can rely on (save for a feisty MI6 agent), the odds are stacked against Banning, with even President Asher forced to step up and help save the day…

Following an outstanding performance at the box office, Gerard Butler (Machine Gun Preacher, Law Abiding Citizen), Aaron Eckhart (The Dark Knight, Thank You For Smoking), Angela Bassett (TV’s American Horror Story, This Means War) and Morgan Freeman (Now You See Me 2, Momentum) bring London Has Fallen home this summer – an explosive, fun-filled adrenaline ride and the perfect antidote to whatever the weather throws at you!

Win London Has Fallen on Blu-ray

To celebrate the release of London Has Fallen on Blu-ray and DVD on Monday, July 18, 2016, IndieLondon is offering readers the chance to win 1 of 3 copies on Blu-ray. Simply answer the following question…

Q. What is the name of Gerard Butler’s character in London Has Fallen?

Simply send the answer to London Has Fallen competition and include your name, address, telephone number and email

Win Forsaken on DVD

Forsaken

Sharing the screen for the first time, Donald Sutherland and Kiefer Sutherland star in brooding Western Forsaken.

A story of an estranged father and son’s reunion, the mending of old wounds and searching for redemption whilst tensions run high in a community besieged by ruthless land-grabbers, the stellar lead cast is completed by Brian Cox, Michael Wincott and Demi Moore.

In 1872, John Henry Clayton (Kiefer Sutherland) retires as a gunfighter and returns to his hometown of Fowler, Wyoming in the hope of repairing his relationship with his estranged father, Reverend Clayton (Donald Sutherland).

However, he soon learns the town is in turmoil, as the railroad will be coming through the area and a criminal gang controlled by ruthless businessman James McCurdy (Brian Cox) is terrorizing ranchers who refuse to sell their land.

Despite constant harassment, John Henry remains true to his vow to not wear his guns, ignoring the pleas of the townsfolk, who in despair have turned away from Reverend Clayton’s preachings of non-violence and urge his son to stand up to McCurdy and his thugs.

John Henry is conflicted. By forsaking violence, he has finally received forgiveness from his father and after years of estrangement but one’s past has a way of being more than a memory that can just be forgotten.

Forsaken is available on digital download from July 4 and on Blu-ray and DVD from July 11, 2016.

Read our review

To celebrate the release of Forsaken on Blu-ray and DVD on Monday, July 11, 2016, IndieLondon is offering readers the chance to win 1 of 3 copies on DVD. Simply answer the following question…

Q. Who directs Forsaken (Clue, the answer is in our review)?

A) John Hillcoat
B) Jon Cassar
C) Alan Taylor

Simply send the answer to Forsaken competition and include your name, address, telephone number and email

Kung Fu Panda 3 - Angelina Jolie Pitt DVD interview

Kung Fu Panda 3

Compiled by Jack Foley

IN her extraordinary career, Angelina Jolie Pitt has been a sharp-shooting assassin, a vengeful fairy, a grief-stricken mother, a video-game adventuress and a tragic supermodel. However, it’s her role as Master Tigress, the cold, cool, super-smart, kung fu mistress co-star of the hugely popular Kung Fu Panda series, which has resonated like no other for the Golden Globe-winning actress.

Co-directed by Jennifer Yuh Nelson and Alessandro Carloni, this third movie in the Oscar-nominated series finds our heroes battling the evil spirit Kai (JK Simmons), who is terrorizing China and stealing the chi of defeated kung fu masters. It’s up to Po to train the occupants of the panda village and come to the rescue.

Angelina Jolie talks about some of the challenges of returning for a third time, as well as some of the pleasures…

Q. The last two Kung Fu Panda movies were the most successful animated films of their years. Why do you think they’re so popular?
Angelina Jolie: Each film has its own thing in which you can find something unique. They’re about family, and they raise questions like, ‘Where do I belong?’ Also, because of the influence of China, people get to know this other world; they get to understand a different place. There’s a wisdom of the ages that comes out of these characters, and for a lot of children it’s the first time they’ve ever heard these things. It’s very nice to entertain them and give them a bit of culture and a bit of grounding.

Q. You mention China… the movies are particularly big there, and known for their accurate knowledge of Chinese culture. Have you learned anything about China through the process?
Angelina Jolie: I think what you learn about China is that when you separate yourself from any politics, you just see the history and the beauty and the landscape that is China.

Q. Kung Fu Panda 3 is partially set in a new world for the series, the secret Panda Village. What can you tell us about it?
Angelina Jolie: Po meets his birth father and is now no longer the only panda around. We learn about other pandas and where they are and who they are, and Po has to learn to understand what that means and who he is. Plus there’s a fun, new element of a zombie attack, which kind of just throws in everything that kids like – zombies and pandas!

Q. After all of these years, what do you like about Tigress, and which of her qualities do you think you have?
Angelina Jolie: I think she can take things too seriously – I think I have that problem. I can want to be in battle all the time and take things very seriously and forget to have a laugh. It’s good for me to be around Jack [Black], just like it’s also good for Tigress to be around Po. It’s nice to be with somebody that’s so full of life and humour and music… in that way, we’re similar. And she’s kind of private; even though I’m a very public person, I’m quite private.

Q. Do you like her?
Angelina Jolie: I do like her, yes. I was very happy that I got to be her.

Q. What do your kids think of her, and do they have a favourite character?
Angelina Jolie: How can they not love Po? Though I’ve never actually asked them if they have a favorite. They’re all different ages, so probably some will like the baby Pandas and some will like Seth Rogan because they’ve seen his movies, and some will like Jackie Chan… but everybody loves Po.

Q. In Kung Fu Panda 2 we saw a softer side to Tigress. Does that continue?
Angelina Jolie: She doesn’t have a big arc in this one, but that’s part of who she is – she doesn’t change very much; she is consistent. When she softens, it’s just a small amount. That’s kind of true for the Five – they represent different things, different types of people, different personalities, so we maintain who we are as Po goes on his search. We do see a little bit more of her friendship with Po, but she still has moments she wants to kill him because he still drives her crazy.

Q. What happens to her over the course of this movie?
Angelina Jolie: Through the course of the movie she’s fighting – her whole life is fighting and protecting. She goes through a period where she thinks she’s lost everyone, and like in any good story, you have that moment where you feel that all hope is lost.

Q. Do you personally have any influence over her destiny?
Angelina Jolie: A little bit, sure. If there’s anything we didn’t like we were not forced to do it, and as we do the scenes we can improvise and say, ‘Well, I think she’d say this’, or ‘I don’t think she’d do this.’ We tend to pass it back and forth, and because there are so many of us in the Five, we tend to pass it to each other. ‘Monkey would say that, it’s not me.’

Q. Is there much opportunity in the vocal booth to improvise?
Angelina Jolie: I’m not funny, but I play around a little bit. With Jack you get into it and learn how to do it a little bit. I can improvise as an actor, but it’s very different improvising in a real moment in a real scene as a person than just staring at a mic and only using your voice to tell funny stories. It’s a different kind of art – Jack’s better at it.

Q. Do you get to work together much?
Angelina Jolie: Finally, after all of these years, Jack and I worked together for the first time on this film.

Q. How does that influence your performance?
Angelina Jolie: The strange thing is, even when we’re not together – because we know each other so well, and know the characters so well – we can imagine how the other would be. But it just made it more fun, more playful, enjoying the process together, being a bit goofy. I think we got a little silly, and maybe a few lines or moments came out of it.

Q. Where did the voice for Tigress originally come from?
Angelina Jolie: What’s strange is I thought that when you did voice acting you were supposed to make a voice, and I came in my first time and started to make every strange voice under the sun. Then they explained to me that that’s not necessary, so it’s my voice, just in the deepest tone. It stays lower, stays strong, because she’s so absolute – she never gets flighty, or curious. She’s me right down the center.

Q. She’s very calm….
Angelina Jolie: She does have that thing that I do not have. She’s very Zen, very absolute. I’m absolute, but I’m not Zen. Sometimes you play a character and it’s not adding things to yourself, it’s more just stripping all the other elements of you away, and then you’re left with that one part of yourself that relates. So you take away this and that, and that one side of me that likes to fight and is a bit stubborn… that’s Tigress.

Kung Fu Panda 3

Q. There are a few new characters joining you in this movie, particularly Kai and Li, voiced by J.K. Simmons and Bryan Cranston respectively. What can you tell us about the newcomers?
Angelina Jolie: They’re great! Bryan Cranston is very moving as Po’s father – very moving. Certain people really know how to use their voice and take it very seriously. Yes, it’s animated, but take it seriously and give a performance; you can tell he’s really committed to this relationship and bringing across what it is to lose your son and find him again. It’s very lovely. And J.K. is just good crazy; he’s powerful, he’s nuts and he’s beautifully out of control.

Q. Sounds not unlike Fletcher, his character from Whiplash
Angelina Jolie: His strength is in there, but it gets a little crazier, more fun. He’s crazy and strong but he’s having a good time.

Q. For you, are there any frustrations or advantages to removing your physical self from the process?
Angelina Jolie: I love it! I’ve heard some people don’t, but I think it’s the greatest thing. Maybe if that’s all you did you’d feel restricted and feel like you also had other things to share, but for me you get stripped of so many things and you are just using your voice. So as an artist you think differently about how you approach and how you communicate with just one part of your instrument and just one thing. And you can come to work in your pajamas – just throw yourself together, it’s fine, nobody cares.

Q. They don’t video your performance for reference?
Angelina Jolie: I feel like they have in the past, but not always. They know us so well now, it’s weird… it’s like they can almost start doing that funny thing that Tigress does that’s now not me, it’s her.

Q. Do you think she looks like you at all?
Angelina Jolie: I don’t think so. I think she was created before I was even there, but she has developed my mannerisms, which is really fun. I think she has a way of standing and a way that’s very upright. She has her hands on her hips probably more than I would care to notice. It would be scary if I started to analyze it, how much they have adapted her to me.

Q. Has playing her changed your fan base at all?
Angelina Jolie: I was once in a hospital and a little girl had a Tigress doll, and I was able to go over to her and start talking to her. I think it just confused her, to be honest! ‘Why are you mimicking my doll?’ In my house, with my kids, it’s something I can share with them. I can’t share all my films with my kids, and they’ve jumped in on this one to be little pandas.

Q. How was that for them? And you?!
Angelina Jolie: It was really fun. I told them they didn’t have to and that it would just be a few lines for fun, and they’re not interested in being actors, but they enjoy the movies. We’ll be in this little, crazy world together, and it’s a really fun world. If you can share it with your kids, it’s so cool.

Q. Is this their first time in a movie?
Angelina Jolie: Oh, yes! And I didn’t know how they were going to do. I didn’t know if they were going to get quiet or nervous, but they all did it really, really well and then I said, ‘Are you ok?’ and they said, ‘Acting’s easy!’ Now I’m going to hear about that the rest of my life. ‘It’s easy, Mom. Why are you always so tired?’

Q. You think they might have caught the acting bug?
Angelina Jolie: Maybe for voiceovers – they were very happy there were no cameras on them. I think they would have gotten really shy. But just the idea that you’re going to do a voice and become a panda. How can you say no?

Q. Are you generally a fan of animated movies?
Angelina Jolie: Yes, especially the Miyazaki movies like Ponyo, and when I was growing up, it was Disney – Dumbo.

Q. What makes a good animated movie?
Angelina Jolie: I think what makes a good animated film is just making a good film, making a film that’s about something that will resonate with kids and has great characters. Same thing that makes any film great. I think great animation studios know that and they don’t rest on the fact that they’ve got a cute little Panda. They know they really have to focus on story. To shoot a scene in a regular film, you rehearse it, write it, you turn the cameras on and you’re pretty much done. With animation, they have to build the worlds and the plates and draw each gesture… it’s a big, big process. Every single move is much more thought out than on a regular film, and it could teach directors to pay more attention to every single frame. If you’ve made an animated film I imagine you have skills that most directors can be a little lazier with.

Q. Is there an animated movie in your future as a director?
Angelina Jolie: I don’t think I’d be very good at it. I’m fascinated by watching the process – I’m producing one right now called Breadwinner, and learning about the process, but I think I have learned a lot about directing from Kung Fu Panda. When I first started directing I was really shy and didn’t understand storyboards and I wanted to be free with the actors, but since working in animation and directing now, I’m much more interested in the storyboards and how to really define your visuals and understand the visual language.

Q. So, you’re saying that Kung Fu Panda has had a major influence on your filmmaking…
Angelina Jolie: I guess so! Yeah! Of course, every film does, but I’ve seen the process for years that these directors have to painstakingly redo and redraw and reconsider, so I think it’s just that respect for the detail. So yes, as a director I would say I’m influenced by animated directors. I should remember the detailed process an animated director goes through and how much decision is made even before it begins, and have that discipline.

Q. Finally, Jeffrey Katzenberg has said he’s ready to do at least another three Panda movies… are you in?
Angelina Jolie: We’ve heard it could go to six or seven. I’m on board, yes. I don’t know where we’re going to go with it, but it’s a really fun journey and a beautiful world we live in in the film. I think the films are lovely and say really nice things, and then every once in a while we get to be in the studio together and meet at the premiere – this big, crazy, strange family we’ve developed into. It’s really nice.

Read our interview with Jack Black

DreamWorks Animation’s Kung Fu Panda 3 is out now on Digital HD and on Blu-ray™ and DVD on July 11, 2016.

Crimes of Passion - Preview & competition

Crimes of Passion

Preview by Jack Foley

TO celebrate the release of Ken Russell’s darkly comic erotic thriller Crimes Of Passion, starring Kathleen Turner (Body Heat, Who Framed Roger Rabbit?), and out now on DVD & Blu-ray Dual Format, we have teamed up with Arrow Video to giveaway a copy!

Crimes Of Passion brings together the enfant terrible of British cinema, one of the best and sexiest actresses ever to come out of the States, and an icon of horror cinema to create a truly bonkers erotic thriller that only Ken Russell could make.

The film is all sumptuous visuals, complex psyches and highly charged erotica, deftly blending the sleaze with strokes of horror and romance.

Russell’s triumph is that Crimes Of Passion manages to be both sexy and scary – but what else could you expect from a film that stars both Jessica Rabbit and Norman Bates?

“… This is in the main a comedy so black that it recaptures some of the cinema’s long-lost power to shock.” Time Out

Order today

Synopsis

Fashion designer Joanna Crane (Turner) leads a double life. By night she is China Blue, a prostitute who’s attracted the unwanted attention of two men.

One is a sexually frustrated private detective hired by her employees. The other is psychopathic priest (played by Norman Bates himself, Anthony Perkins) in possession of a murderous sex toy.

With its outré screenplay by Barry Sandler and over the top score by Rick Wakeman, Crimes of Passion may just be the most outrageous Ken Russell film ever made and that’s quite some feat!

Special edition content includes:

- Brand new 2K restoration of the film from original film materials.

- High Definition Blu-ray (1080p) and Standard Definition DVD presentations of the director’s cut and unrated versions of the film

- Optional subtitles for the deaf and hard of hearing

- Audio commentary with director Ken Russell and producer-screenwriter Barry Sandler

- Seven deleted/extended scenes with optional commentary by Sandler

- Brand-new interview with Sandler recorded especially for this release!

- Home movie footage of Ken Russell visiting Florida for a retrospective screening of Crimes of Passion at the 2009 Florida Film Festival

- Theatrical trailer

- Reversible sleeve featuring original and newly commissioned artwork by Twins of Evil

- Illustrated booklet containing new writing by Ken Russell’s biographer, Paul Sutton, correspondence between Russell and Kathleen Turner, and an on-set interview with Russell

Win Crimes of Passion on Blu-ray

To celebrate the release of Crimes of Passion on DVD and Blu-ray Dual Format now, IndieLondon is offering readers the chance to win 1 copy of the Dual Format. Simply answer the following question…

Q. Who directs Kathleen Turner in Crimes of Passion?

Simply send the answer to Crimes of Passion competition and include your name, address, telephone number and email

Highlander: 30th Anniversary Edition - Preview & competition

Highlander

Preview by Jack Foley

TO mark the 30th anniversary of the time travelling action fantasy favourite, Highlander, STUDIOCANAL is thrilled to announce that the cult classic has been fully restored in 4K and will be released with brand new bonus material.

There can only be one…

1985 New York City; the Battle to end all battles. The last remaining Immortals gather together to fight to the death: decapitation alone can kill them, and the victor alone can lay claim to “The Prize”.

Amongst the contestants is Connor MacLeod (Christopher Lambert), who fought his first battle in 1536 on the highlands of Scotland, swordsman Ramirez (Sean Connery) who mentored MacLeod and taught him the ways of the immortals, and the evil and brutal barbarian Victor Kruger (Clancy Brown).

The film was directed by Russell Mulcahy (Swimming Upstream, The Real McCoy) and features an original score by Michael Kamen and Queen.

Highlander went onto inspire four sequels and a television series.

Restored by Deluxe London, the restoration of Highlander is based on a 4K scan of the original camera negative, followed by a full 4K workflow, with the approval of director Russell Mulcahy.

The DVD and Blu-ray re-release includes a new interview with Mulcahy, as well as a new interview with Lambert, plus deleted scenes, a making of documentary in four parts, and audio commentary with Mulcachy.

Win Highlander on DVD plus books, T-shirts and badges

To celebrate the release of the 30th anniversary edition of Highlander on Blu-ray and DVD on July 11, 2016, IndieLondon is offering readers the chance to win 1 of 2 sets of books, DVDs, T-shirts and badges. Simply answer the following question…

Q. What is the name of the character played by Sean Connery in Highlander?

Simply send the answer to Highlander competition and include your name, address, telephone number and email