Follow Us on Twitter

Win The Red Turtle on DVD

The Red Turtle

STUDIOCANAL is pleased to announce that the Oscar-nominated and highly acclaimed The Red Turtle – a deeply moving and uplifting story about the power of the human spirit – arrives on Digital Download on September 18, 2017 and on DVD and Double Play (Blu-ray and DVD) on September 25, 2017.

Studio Ghibli’s first international co-production from Oscar-winning director Michael Dudok de Wit, The Red Turtle recounts the milestones in the life of a human being through the story of a man shipwrecked on a tropical island inhabited by turtles, crabs and birds.

Bringing together the creative powers of Japan’s most beloved animation studio and the gentle sensibility of Dudok de Wit’s storytelling, the film is brought to life by Prima Linea’s stellar animation team, helmed by Disney veteran Jean-Christophe Lie (Zarafa, Tarzan, Hercules) and the beautiful, dialogue-less screenplay by award-winning French writer and director Pascale Ferran (Lady Chatterley, Bird People).

The Red Turtle is a visually beautiful, emotional and uplifting animated classic that needs to be seen.

Read our review

To celebrate the release of The Red Turtle on Double Play and DVD on September 25, 2017, IndieLondon is offering readers the chance to win 1 of 3 copies on DVD. Simply answer the following question…

Q. Which Oscar-winning short film did Michael Dudok de Wit also direct (Clue, the answer is in our review)?

A) The Blue Umbrella
B) Father And Daughter
C) Four Seasons

Simply send the answer to The Red Turtle competition and include your name, address, telephone number and email

The Canterville Ghost - DVD Preview

The Canterville Ghost

Preview by Jack Foley

FEATURING an all-star cast lead by Patrick Stewart alongside Neve Campbell, Joan Sims, Donald Sinden and Cherie Lunghi comes a magical adaptation of Oscar Wilde’s classic tale The Canterville Ghost, which makes its UK Blu-ray debut and DVD release thanks to Second Sight Films.

Fearing a life of boredom when her family relocates from America to a sprawling English stately home, teenager Ginny Otis (Campbell) is in for quite a surprise.

Strange goings-on are soon explained when she encounters the ghost of Sir Simon de Canterville (Stewart), who can only be seen by Ginny and her brothers. An understandably grouchy ghost at first, Ginny learns his sorrowful tale and vows to help him lift the curse that will keep him haunting the corridors of Canterville Hall forever.

This spellbinding adventure will enchant and entertain the whole family in the holidays and beyond.

The Canterville Ghost arrives on DVD and Blu-ray on Monday, October 23, 2017.

Win The Canterville Ghost on DVD

To celebrate the release of The Canterville Ghost on DVD and Blu-ray from October 23, 2017, IndieLondon is offering readers the chance to win 1 of 3 copies on DVD. Simply answer the following question…

Q. Who plays Sir Simon de Canterville in The Canterville Ghost?

Simply send the answer to The Canterville Ghost competition and include your name, address, telephone number and email

Win Your Name on DVD

Your Name

Preview by Jack Foley

TAKE home the body-swapping romance that captivated the world with the highly anticipated release of Your Name.

Critically-acclaimed and as beautifully written as it is animated, this spellbinding story of love and youth is the perfect gift for the anime or film fan in your life.

Synopsis:

“One thing is certain. If we see each other, we’ll know.”

Mitsuha (Mone Kamishiraishi) and Taki (Ryunosuke Kamiki) have never met, but when the frustrated country girl wishes of a life in the big city, they will forge a connection both unexplainable and unforgettable.

In their dreams, the two swap lives, cultures and genders as they learn more about, and grow closer to, each other. What was once a shock becomes a joy-filled double life, but what will happen when they discover the red string of fate tying them together?

Your Name comes to DVD, Blu-ray and Blu-ray Steelbook on November 6, 2017, from Anime Ltd. It is also available as a Deluxe Edition exclusively to Anime Ltd and Zavvi from November 23.

Pre-Order l Amazon

Win Your Name on DVD

To celebrate the release of Your Name on DVD and Blu-ray from November 6, 2017, IndieLondon is offering readers the chance to win a copy on DVD. Simply answer the following question…

Q. Who plays Taki in Your Name?

Simply send the answer to Your Name competition and include your name, address, telephone number and email

Win A Man Called Ove DVDs and books

A Man Called Ove

Preview by Jack Foley

BASED on the international bestseller by Fredrik Backman, Hannes Holm’s A Man Called Ove has received widespread international acclaim since premiering on the festival circuit, picking up multiple accolades, including a European Film Award for Best European Comedy and two Oscar® nominations.

An isolated retiree with strict principles and a short fuse, Ove (Rolf Lassgård) is the quintessential angry old man next door. Having entirely given up on life, his days are spent in a constant monotony of enforcing housing association rules and visiting his wife Sonja’s grave.

But when a boisterous young family moves in next door, immediately incurring his wrath, things take an unexpected turn. Pregnant Parvaneh (Bahar Pars) and her lively children are the complete antithesis of what ill-tempered Ove thinks he needs – and yet, from this inauspicious beginning an unlikely friendship blooms and Ove’s past happiness and heartbreaks come to light.

A wistful, heart-warming tale of unreliable first impressions and a wonderful reminder that life is sweeter when it’s shared.

A Man Called Ove is released on DVD and Blu-ray on Monday, October 16, 2017.

In Swedish, with subtitles

Win A Man Called Ove DVDs and books

To celebrate the release of A Man Called Ove on DVD and Blu-ray from October 16, 2017, IndieLondon is offering readers the chance to win 1 of 3 copies of the DVD and the book upon which it is based. Simply answer the following question…

Q. Who directs A Man Called Ove?

Simply send the answer to A Man Called Ove competition and include your name, address, telephone number and email

Fast & Furious 8 - Tyrese Gibson interview

Compiled by Jack Foley

TYRESE Gibson talks about some of the elements of making Fast & Furious 8 and what he thinks of the franchise’s continued global appeal.

He also talks about working with director F Gary Gray, working in Cuba and driving some of his favourite cars. Fast & Furious 8 is available on Blu-ray and DVD from October 16, 2017, courtesy of Universal Pictures (UK).

Q. Tell us about the story for Fast & Furious 8?
Tyrese Gibson: Dominic Toretto compromised his family because he turned his back on us, and it was uncomfortable to shoot. It was uncomfortable to watch. I actually had a problem with them wanting to do that. But I understood clearly that the family and the movie in itself needed to do something disruptive, and everyone in the world was just curious, like, why would Dom turn his back on us.

And the fact that we didn’t know what was going throughout the movie until the end just had the world on the edge of their seats. And I didn’t realize how good it would be for the franchise, but I realized it really fast when I saw how intrigued everyone was to just find out why he turned his back on us all.

Q. How was working with a new director, in the form of F. Gary Gray?
Tyrese Gibson: He had a bit of a cheat sheet for one because F. Gary Gray had relationships already with Charlize [Theron] and Jason [Statham], Vin [Diesel] and Dwayne [Johnson] who had already done movies with him. So, I’d been really close, as a friend, with F. Gary for about eight years, and we’d been a support system for each other for the years with various different projects. But it was our first time actually working together.

I think when it comes to family, family boils down to inspiration, morale, being honest with each other, and just really making someone feel like you got their back even when they’re not looking. It’s very easy to show someone I got your back when they’re looking, but do you have my back when I’m not around. And F. Gary learned that from me really fast on the set.

I thought it was good that he brought his voice and his unique energy to the franchise. I think that’s what keeps taking us up a level that we give a lot of different filmmakers an opportunity to come in and give their own take and spin on the franchise. And to make sure that we’re still forging the head and not getting caught up in repeating everything.

Q. What do you think about Roman’s new cars in Fast 8?
Tyrese Gibson: Well, thanks to F. Gary Gray I got my Lamborghini; my orange one. And I was able to get the Bentley G2 coop, two-toned, which was cool. I thought it was just cool like when you look at an orange Lamborghini out there coasting on ice in the middle of Iceland. It’s kind of crazy.

There are really no rules in this game. We can kind of just do whatever we want to do. That was just another example of changing the game seeing a Lamborghini on ice. It was the first and only Lamborghini that had ever been to Iceland, and I was just happy to be a part of that.

Fast & Furious 8

Q. How was working in Cuba with those vintage cars?
Tyrese Gibson: We were proud to find out that were the first movie in 60 years to shoot here. But obviously when you’re first it comes with a lot of challenges, a lot of politics, and a lot of rare tape. But we were able to forge a head and put all of our brains together. Everyone worked every angle imaginable to pull it off.

It feels like we travelled back in time 60 years. And the folks that live here every day are use to it, but this is not normal as far as anyone else in the world. I thought it was going to be a couple of old school cars, but the majority of the cars are out here from 50 or 60 years ago and that’s unbelievable to me. Shout out to all the mechanics that have kept these cars alive for 60 years because they drive them every day.

Q. What do you think about the continued global appeal of the Fast franchise?
Tyrese Gibson: I think it’s the diversity that is one of the things that is really unspoken. You know, everyone wants to go to a movie or a TV show and see someone in the movie that looks like them or is where they are from. It gives you a greater sense of pride, and makes you feel like you’re in the movie while
you’re watching it. Family is a universal thing. We all can relate to family. Some of us are close to our families. Others are not, but we do understand what a family is. And cars. customised cars. Men, women, kids, teenagers it’s something that we all love and want.

And if you don’t have that car you’re at least able to look at these cars and imagine that one day you’ll be able to have one. And that’s what dreams are made. So, we’re just happy to be a part of something that translates around the world. There has been a lot of folks that have been trying to tap into this space, but Fast and Furious is in a league of its own. We just hope that we never let the fans down.

Q. What can we expect from the Blu-ray and DVD release?
Tyrese Gibson: Way more scenes, way more funny, way more action and it’s the extended director’s cut. The fans are going to get a real sense of what that looks like. For two, you get a chance to really get behind the scenes and check out Cuba in a way you didn’t even see in the movie.

You really get a sense of the behind-the- scenes, the laughter, the fun, the comradery that the whole world knows about, but we’re proud to show people that there is a way to work on one of the biggest movies in the world and actually have fun doing it.

Read our review of Fast & Furious 8

Fast & Furious 8 is available on Blu-ray and DVD from October 16, 2017, courtesy of Universal Pictures (UK).

Fast and Furious 8 - DVD Review

Fast & Furious 8

Review by Rob Carnevale

IndieLondon Rating: 3.5 out of 5

THERE’S a point early on in Fast & Furious 8 when Kurt Russell’s character turns to a rookie recruit on his team and says “you’re forgetting the first rule, which is know your audience”. It’s a piece of advice that incoming director F Gary Gray seems to have taken on board.

As entertainingly absurd as ever, this eighth film in the franchise exists to satisfy the fans and frequently does so with aplomb without ever really mixing up the formula.

Hence, there’s eye candy aplenty, exotic locations including Cuba and New York, OTT stunts (including one grandstanding sequence involving a submarine), the usual sappy sentiment (all based around the importance of family), and a testosterone overload whenever the three main principals – Vin Diesel, Dwayne Johnson and Jason Statham – share the screen.

Fast & Furious 8 does have the sad distinction of being the first to have been made without the late Paul Walker but even so continues to honour his memory. Without giving anything away, Walker’s character, Brian, is referenced twice… and once in a deeply affectionate way.

The plot, once again penned by Chris Morgan, opts for the type of credibility straining, world-saving kind of exploits that Pierce Brosnan-era James Bond may even have found a little too ridiculous. It basically pits Diesel’s Dominic Toretto against his own crew after a super-villain, known as Cipher (nicely played by franchise newcomer Charlize Theron), offers him a compelling (and deeply personal) reason to switch sides.

Hence, while Toretto goes rogue in a bid to steal some nuclear weapons, it’s left to his old family – led by Johnson’s Luke Hobbs and Michelle Rodriguez’s Letty – to try and make sense of his actions with the unlikely help of former enemy turned ally Deckard Shaw (Statham).

The ensuing chase takes the team from the Big Apple to some frozen Russian wastelands and grows ever more preposterous by the minute.

Yet, crucially, it knows how to make its audience laugh along with it, rather than at its expense, by embracing its own silliness – a ploy that it has used to such winning effect since Fast 5 (still the best in the series).

Hence, the machismo that informs so many of the exchanges is self-consciously OTT, to the point where even the characters are laughing at some of the lines, while the action knows that it’s having to outdo what has come before by frequently referencing it.

And this time around, there are even nods to other movies that may have informed some of the choreography choices, whether it’s Die Another Day 007 or Face/Off‘s Somewhere Over The Rainbow gunfight, which places a child at the centre of the bullet-ridden carnage.

As if that wasn’t enough, there’s even a sublime extended cameo from Dame Helen Mirren, hamming it up as the Cockney mother of Statham’s character, who has a crucial part to play in proceedings.

Indeed, the good time being had by the cast almost effortlessly translates to the viewer and even helps to overcome some of the inevitable lulls in proceedings and contrivances within the plot. For if you properly lifted the lid and took a peak under the bonnet, there are plenty of holes to be found that could easily bring another franchise to a screeching halt.

For starters, the plot doesn’t really make sense, while the stunts frequently defy the laws of gravity. Most of the characters are wasted (especially Kurt Russell’s still intriguing Mr Nobody), while their story arcs defy logic. It’s perhaps a testament to the continued goodwill surrounding this franchise that the films can emerge so unscathed. They’re now virtually critic-proof.

But therein lies the rub. Fast & Furious 8 does know its audience and delivers the goods in spades. It remains an entertaining joyride that shows little sign of slowing down just yet.

Certificate: 12A
Running time: 136mins
UK Blu-ray & DVD Release: October 16, 2017

Win Gifted on DVD

Gifted

Preview by Jack Foley

THIS half term take home Gifted, the funny, moving and heart-warming family-friendly drama that has it all; feel-good humour, laughter, friendship and romance!

The chemistry between Chris Evans and McKenna Grace is heart-felt with a storyline that’s gripping throughout.

Beautifully directed by Marc Webb (500 Days of Summer, The Amazing Spider-Man) Gifted is both poignant and inspiring.

Gifted is available on Digital Download on October 9, 2017 and on DVD and Video on Demand from October 23, 2017. To celebrate, we’re giving away a copy on DVD!

This charming and emotional story follows Frank Adler (Chris Evans), a single man dedicated to raising his spirited young niece, Mary (Mckenna Grace), a child prodigy.

But Frank and Mary’s happy life together is threatened when Mary’s mathematical abilities come to the attention of her overbearing grandmother (Lindsay Duncan) – who has other plans for the girl. You’ll love every moment of this “touching and funny” (Now magazine) film, also starring Jenny Slate and OSCAR® Winner Octavia Spencer*.

To be in with the chance of winning, just answer this question…

Q. In Gifted, which actress plays Frank Adler’s mother?

A) Lindsay Duncan
B) Octavia Spencer
C) Mckenna Grace

Simply send the answer to Gifted competition and include your name, address, telephone number and email

Don’t miss the clip below featuring Chris Evans from the DVD extras!

Gifted is available on digital download from October 9, 2017, and on DVD and video on demand from October 23, 2017.

Gifted_Soundbites_Chris Evans_On Playing A Parent from Organic Publicity on Vimeo.

Win Bushwick on DVD

Bushwick

Preview by Jack Foley

TO celebrate the home entertainment release of Bushwick, available on DVD and Blu-ray on October 23, 2017, we have a copy of the film on DVD up for grabs, courtesy of Kaleidoscope Entertainment!

It’s Guardians of the Galaxy star Dave Bautista versus an entire Texas battalion in New York City in this all-out action thriller from the makers of Cooties and Stake Land.

Action movie stars don’t come much bigger than Dave Bautista, Drax from the smash hit Guardians of the Galaxy series, and the villainous Hinx from the latest James Bond film Spectre.

Here, front and centre as Stupe, a take no prisoners ex-Marine on the warpath against a Texas militia invading New York, Bushwick establishes Bautista – soon to be seen in Blade Runner 2049 – as an action hero on a par with Vin Diesel and The Rock.

Brittany Snow, from the Pitch Perfect movies, excels as Lucy, who, out of sheer necessity when her neighbourhood is suddenly transformed into a dangerous war zone, transforms into a fierce fighting machine alongside Stupe.

Brilliantly directed by Cary Murnion and Jonathan Milott, the team behind the cult horror hit Cooties, here deploying some superbly realised action set pieces and imbuing proceedings with a paranoid, anarchic feel; and expertly scripted by Nick Damici – the red-hot writer of the similarly themed apocalyptic thrillers Stake Land 1 and 2,Texas noir classic Cold In July, and hit series Hap and Leonard – the film is, terrifyingly, inspired by real events.

Bushwick is a timely, chilling look at the landscape of America right now, as well as a full-bore urban actioner that mixes elements of The Warriors and Escape From New York. It hits the ground running with an extraordinary opening sequence, and doesn’t let up until the end credits roll.

Synopsis:

Lucy (Brittany Snow) emerges from a Brooklyn subway to find that her neighbourhood is under attack by black-clad military soldiers. She crosses paths with an ex-Marine corpsman, Stupe (Dave Bautista), who reluctantly helps her fight for survival through a civil war, as Texas attempts to secede from the United States of America.

Win Bushwick on DVD

To celebrate the release of Bushwick on DVD and Blu-ray from October 23, 2017, IndieLondon is offering readers the chance to win a copy on DVD. Simply answer the following question…

Q. Who directs Bushwick?

Simply send the answer to Bushwick competition and include your name, address, telephone number and email

Land of Mine - DVD Preview

Preview by Jack Foley

Inspired by real events, and nominated for Best Foreign Language Film at the 2017 Academy Awards, Land Of Mine follows the little-known story of the young German prisoners of war who were handed over to Danish authorities in the days following Germany’s surrender in May 1945.

Tough veteran Sergeant Carl Rasmussen is assigned by Lieutenant Ebbe Jensen to diffuse and remove two million mines on the Danish West Coast to keep the beaches safe.

He takes advantage of the teenage POW’s, ordering them to dig up the mines from the sand with their bare hands.

Rasmussen promises their freedom and release back to Germany when the task is completed; and after initial hostility he slowly begins to sympathise with their plight.

However, Jensen remains resentful of their former occupiers – and steadfast in his belief the young men should be treated with contempt – bringing him head to head with Rasmussen in a final showdown…

Directed by Martin Zandvliet and starring Roland Møller and Mikkel Følsgaard, Land Of Mine offers a deeply powerful, emotionally resonant account of a forgotten chapter in recent history, and a timely reminder of the power of forgiveness.

Win Land of Mine on DVD

To celebrate the release of Land of Mine on DVD from October 9, 2017, IndieLondon is offering readers the chance to win 1 of 3 copies. Simply answer the following question…

Q. Who directs Land of Mine?

Simply send the answer to Land of Mine competition and include your name, address, telephone number and email

Win My Life As A Courgette on DVD and a bespoke T-shirt

My Life As A Courgette

From its debut in Director’s Fortnight at Cannes to winning audience awards at festivals around the world, this accomplished debut feature from director Claude Barras, based on a script from acclaimed writer-director Celine Sciamma (Girlhood, Tomboy), was nominated for both a Golden Globe and Academy Award.

After his mother’s sudden death, Courgette is befriended by a police officer, Raymond, who accompanies him to his new foster home filled with other orphans his age..

At first he struggles to find his place in this often strange and hostile environment.

Yet with Raymond’s help and his newfound friends, Courgette eventually learns to trust and love, as he searches for a new family of his own.

Brought to life through memorably bold character designs and expressive stop-motion animation, My Life As A Courgette soars with laughter, sorrow, joy, and above all, stands as a testament to the resilience of the human heart.

Read our review

To celebrate the release of My Life As A Courgette on Blu-ray and DVD on Monday, September 18, 2017, IndieLondon is offering readers the chance to win 1 of 2 copies on DVD as well as a medium-sized bespoke My Life As A Courgette T-shirt. Simply answer the following question…

Q. Who wrote the book upon which My Life As A Courgette is based (Clue, the answer is in our review)?

A) Gilles Paris
B) Jean-Claude Paris
C) Noel Paris

Simply send the answer to My Life As A Courgette competition and include your name, address, telephone number and email