Follow Us on Twitter

The Jia Zhang-Ke Collection - Preview

Jia Zhang Ke: Hometown Trilogy

Preview by Jack Foley

ARTIFICIAL Eye is proud to release The Jia Zhang-Ke Collection on DVD on Monday, November 26, 2012, featuring three of his acclaimed movies: Pickpocket, Platform and Unknown Pleasures.

Daring, mesmerising and utterly original, these three early films by Jia Zhang-Ke (director of Still Life and 24 City) form a loose trilogy, based around the monumental change that has been witnessed by Chinese society over the last 30 years.

Combining elements of magical realism with a deep vein of heartfelt humanism, these tales of modern longing, loss and loneliness are both groundbreaking works of cinematic art and priceless social documents that have seen him lauded by critics and festival audiences across the world.

Pickpocket was released in 1998 and described by Sight & Sound as “one of the most impressive Chinese films of the ’90s”, while Platform followed in 2000 and was hailed by i-D Magazine as “a masterpiece from a genuine film artist”.

2006’s Unknown Pleasures led The Independent to write: “‘Fantastically talented director Jia Zhang-Ke has cemented his position at the forefront of modern Chinese cinema with this distinctive, poignant and moving film about isolation and alienation.”

Win The Jia Zhang-Ke Collection on DVD

To celebrate the release of The Jia Zhang-Ke Collection on DVD on Monday, November 26, IndieLondon is offering readers the chance to win 1 of 3 copies on DVD. Simply answer the following question…

Q. In what year was Pickpocket released?

Simply send the answer to The Jia Zhang-Ke Collection competition and include your name, address, telephone number and email