Follow Us on Twitter

Lynn Painter-Stainers Prize Exhibition

Exhibition preview

TOBY Wiggins has been announced winner of the Lynn Painter-Stainers Prize 2009 for his painting Suspended Animation. Wiggins received £15,000 and an engraved gold medal.

The Young Artist Award of £2,500 was awarded to Michael De Bono for Natural Philosophy. Lorna Vahey, Emma Harworth, Lisa Wright and Anna Gardiner received runners up prizes of £1,000.

Previously Posted: The six artists short-listed for the Lynn Painter-Stainers Prize are Michael De Bono with Natural Philosophy, Anna Gardiner with Top Knots, Lisa Wright with The Secret Place, Lorna Vahey with The Ending of the Day, Toby Wiggins with Suspended Animation and Emma Hawarth with Bluebell Wood Twilight.

Previously Posted: The Lynn Painter-Stainers Prize Exhibition 2009 will be on display at Painters’ Hall from November 13 to November 30.

After four years of championing the fine art of representational painting, the Painter-Stainers’ Company and the Lynn Foundation are co-sponsoring the Lynn Painter-Stainers Prize Exhibition for the fifth year.

With prize money totalling £22,500, this competition is designed to encourage creative representational painting and promote the skill of draughtsmanship. The first prize will be announced at the private view on Monday, November 16.

In only a few years, the competition has become extremely popular with young contemporary painters. The young artist award of £2,500, which will also be awarded, is a coveted prize that aims to promote the tradition of portrait painting and support fresh new talent.

The judges this year are artists Mick Rooney RA, Daphne Todd OBE PPRP NEAC and Susan Wilson; Director of the Flowers Gallery, Angela Flowers; and Andrew Wilton, visiting research fellow at Tate Britain.

The judges selected 82 works from 800 entries to form this unique exhibition.

Admission: Free.

Times: Monday to Saturday from 10am to 4pm.

Painters’ Hall, 9 Little Trinity Lane, London, EC4V 2AD