Follow Us on Twitter

12 Years A Slave dominates Indie Spirit Awards

12 Years A Slave

Story by Jack Foley

STEVE McQueen’s 12 Years A Slave has dominated the Independent Spirit Awards, taking a total of five prizes.

The slavery drama, based on the true story of Solomon Northup, took best feature and best director for Britain’s McQueen among its haul. Rising star Lupita Nyong’o was also crowned best supporting actress and was on hand to pick up the prize on her birthday.

She told the audience: “Not a bad way to celebrate my birthday.”

12 Years A Slave also won awards for screenplay, for John Ridley, and cinematography.

After picking up the best director award, McQueen dedicated it to the film’s subject Solomon Northup who “inspired me to look and find the truth”.

The night, held beachside in Santa Monica, didn’t all go the way of 12 Years. The top acting award went to Oscar favourite Matthew McConaughey for his role in Dallas Buyers Club, which also saw his co-star Jared Leto claim best supporting actor.

And Cate Blanchett picked up yet another win for her role in Woody Allen’s Blue Jasmine making her a virtual shoe-in for the Academy Award (held tonight).

Fruitvale Station was named best first feature and Nebraska won a best first screenplay award.

The documentary prize went to 20 Feet From Stardom, which shines a spotlight on the world of the backing singers.

The annual Independent Spirit Awards seek to honour low budget film-making and are always held on the eve of the Oscars.

Winners and nominees

Best Feature
12 Years A Slave
All Is Lost
Frances Ha
Inside Llewyn Davis

Shane Carruth, Upstream Color
J.C. Chandor, All Is Lost
Steve McQueen, 12 Years a Slave
Jeff Nichols, Mud
Alexander Payne, Nebraska

Woody Allen, Blue Jasmine
Julie Delpy, Ethan Hawke & Richard Linklater, Before Midnight
Nicole Holofcener, Enough Said
Scott Neustadter & Michael H. Weber, The Spectacular Now
John Ridley, 12 Years a Slave

Cate Blanchett, Blue Jasmine
Julie Delpy, Before Midnight
Gaby Hoffmann, Crystal Fairy
Brie Larson, Short Term 12
Shailene Woodley, The Spectacular Now

Bruce Dern, Nebraska
Chiwetel Ejiofor, 12 Years a Slave
Oscar Isaac, Inside Llewyn Davis
Michael B. Jordan, Fruitvale Station
Matthew McConaughey, Dallas Buyers Club
Robert Redford All Is Lost

Melonie Diaz, Fruitvale Station
Sally Hawkins, Blue Jasmine
Lupita Nyong’o, 12 Years a Slave
Yolonda Ross, Go For Sisters
June Squibb, Nebraska

Michael Fassbender, 12 Years a Slave
Will Forte, Nebraska
James Gandolfini, Enough Said
Jared Leto, Dallas Buyers Club
Keith Stanfield, Short Term 12

Sean Bobbitt, 12 Years a Slave
Benoit Debie, Spring Breakers
Bruno Delbonnel, Inside Llewyn Davis
Frank G. DeMarco, All Is Lost
Matthias Grunsky, Computer Chess

20 Feet From Stardom
After Tiller
Gideon’s Army
The Act of Killing
The Square

A Touch of Sin (China)
Blue is the Warmest Color (France)
Gloria (Chile)
The Great Beauty (Italy)
The Hunt (Denmark)