Follow Us on Twitter

Amour wins big at 33rd London Critics' Circle Film Awards


Story by Jack Foley

MICHAEL Haneke’s Amour has emerged as the big winner at the 33rd London Critics’ Circle Film Awards.

The Palme d’Or winner, which has also received five Oscar nominations, was named film of the year, while Haneke picked up the best screenplay prize and lead actress Emmanuelle Riva took home best actress (beating Oscar favourite Jessica Chastain).

Haneke lost out in the best director category to Ang Lee, who triumphed for Life of Pi.

The Master scored a double success in the acting categories when Joaquin Phoenix was awarded best actor and Philip Seymour Hoffman was named supporting actor.

And Anne Hathaway won best supporting actress for Les Miserables.

Jacques Audiard’s Oscar snubbed Rust and Bone was awarded foreign language film of the year.

In the British film categories, Berberian Sound Studio picked up best British film, while its star Toby Jones was named British actor of the year.

Andrea Riseborough won British actress for Shadow Dancer, Tom Holland was named young British performer of the year for his role in tsunami disaster movie The Impossible and scripters Alice Lowe and Steve Oram took home the breakthrough British filmmakers prize for Sightseers.

The Critics’ Circle also named their top 10 films of 2012, which were Amour, The Master, Life of Pi, Argo, Beasts of the Southern Wild, Zero Dark Thirty, Once Upon a Time in Anatolia, Django Unchained, Tabu and Rust and Bone.

Helena Bonham Carter was also recognised with the Dilys Powell Award for Excellence in Film.

The ceremony was held on Sunday night (January 20, 2013) at London’s Mayfair Hotel.

The nominees and winners in full (winners appear in bold):

The Sky Movies Award: Film of the Year
Amour (Artificial Eye)
Argo (Warners)
Beasts of the Southern Wild (StudioCanal)
Life of Pi (Fox)
The Master (Entertainment)

Foreign Language Film of the Year
Amour (Artificial Eye)
Holy Motors (Artificial Eye)
Once Upon a Time in Anatolia (New Wave)
Rust and Bone (StudioCanal)
Tabu (New Wave)

Documentary of the year
The Imposter (Picturehouse/Revolver)
London: The Modern Babylon (BFI)
Nostalgia for the Light (New Wave)
The Queen of Versailles (Dogwoof)
Searching for Sugar Man (StudioCanal)

The May Fair Hotel Award: British Film Of The Year
Berberian Sound Studio (Artificial Eye)
The Imposter (Picturehouse/Revolver)
Les Miserables (Universal)
Sightseers (StudioCanal)
Skyfall (Sony)

The Spotlight Award: Actor Of The Year
Daniel Day-Lewis – Lincoln (Fox)
Hugh Jackman – Les Miserables (Universal)
Mads Mikkelsen – The Hunt (Arrow)
Joaquin Phoenix – The Master (Entertainment)
Jean-Louis Trintignant – Amour (Artificial Eye)

Actress Of The Year
Jessica Chastain – Zero Dark Thirty (Universal)
Marion Cotillard – Rust and Bone (StudioCanal)
Helen Hunt – The Sessions (Fox)
Jennifer Lawrence – Silver Linings Playbook (Entertainment)
Emmanuelle Riva – Amour (Artificial Eye)

Supporting Actor of the Year
Alan Arkin – Argo (Warners)
Javier Bardem – Skyfall (Sony)
Michael Fassbender – Prometheus (Fox)
Philip Seymour Hoffman – The Master (Entertainment)
Tommy Lee Jones – Lincoln (Fox)

Supporting Actress of the Year
Amy Adams – The Master (Entertainment)
Judi Dench – Skyfall (Sony)
Sally Field – Lincoln (Fox)
Anne Hathaway – Les Miserables (Universal)
Isabelle Huppert – Amour (Artificial Eye)

British Actor of the Year – In association with Cameo Productions
Daniel Craig – Skyfall (Sony)
Charlie Creed-Miles – Wild Bill (The Works/Universal)
Daniel Day-Lewis – Lincoln (Fox)
Toby Jones – Berberian Sound Studio (Artificial Eye)
Steve Oram – Sightseers (StudioCanal)

British Actress of the Year
Emily Blunt – Looper (eOne) and Your Sister’s Sister (StudioCanal)
Judi Dench – The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel (Fox) and Skyfall (Sony)
Alice Lowe – Sightseers (StudioCanal)
Helen Mirren – Hitchcock (Fox)
Andrea Riseborough – Shadow Dancer (Paramount)

Young British performer of the Year
Samantha Barks – Les Miserables (Universal)
Fady Elsayed – My Brother the Devil (Verve)
Tom Holland – The Impossible (eOne)
Will Poulter – Wild Bill (The Works/Universal)
Jack Reynor – What Richard Did (Artificial Eye)

The American Airlines Award: Director Of The Year
Paul Thomas Anderson – The Master (Entertainment)
Kathryn Bigelow – Zero Dark Thirty (Universal)
Nuri Bilge Ceylan – Once Upon a Time in Anatolia (New Wave)
Michael Haneke – Amour (Artificial Eye)
Ang Lee – Life of Pi (Fox)

Screenwriter of the Year
Paul Thomas Anderson – The Master (Entertainment)
Mark Boal – Zero Dark Thirty (Universal)
Michael Haneke – Amour (Artificial Eye)
Quentin Tarantino – Django Unchained (Sony)
Chris Terrio – Argo (Warners)

Breakthrough British filmmaker
Ben Drew, writer/director – Ill Manors (Revolver)
Sally El Hosaini, writer/director – My Brother the Devil (Verve)
Dexter Fletcher, co-writer/director – Wild Bill (The Works/Universal)
Bart Layton, writer/director – The Imposter (Picturehouse/Revolver)
Alice Lowe & Steve Oram, writers – Sightseers (StudioCanal)

Helena Bonham Carter