Follow Us on Twitter

Argo lands top prize at Producers Guild Awards


Story by Jack Foley

BEN Affleck’s Argo has taken the the top film prize at the 24th annual Producers Guild Awards.

Ben Affleck, George Clooney and Grant Heslov received the Darryl F. Zanuck Award at a prize-giving ceremony at the Beverly Hilton Hotel on Saturday night (January 26, 2013).

Affleck, who also directed and stars in the film, described the moment as “incredible, exciting”.

The win strengthens Argo‘s chances of landing the equivalent award at the Oscars, particularly as the film has now won two Golden Globes (for best drama and for Affleck’s direction) as well as a Critics’ Choice prize. It is in the running for seven awards, although Affleck was snubbed in the director category.

The last five winners of the PGA’s motion picture award have all gone on to win the Oscar for best picture.

Further film prizes went to Disney’s Wreck-It Ralph, produced by Clark Spencer, which won the animation prize, while Searching For Sugar Man took the documentary prize.

On the television side of things, Modern Family won the award for episodic comedy for the third year running, and Showtime’s Homeland won its first PGA Award in the drama series category.

HBO’s political-themed Game Change won the long-form TV trophy.

The ceremony also saw Robert De Niro, Quentin Tarantino and Robert Rodriguez present the PGA’s Milestone Award to Bob and Harvey Weinstein.

While Anne Hathaway presented the PGA’s David O. Selznick Achievement Award in Theatrical Motion Pictures to Tim Bevan and Eric Fellner, the British producers who head up Working Title, which produced her Oscar nominated film Les Miserables.

And in what is proving to be a prolific period of headline grabbing, JJ Abrams received the Norman Lear Achievement Award in Television from Jennifer Garner on the same day he was confirmed as the director of Star Wars: Episode VII.