Follow Us on Twitter

Bond 24 to be named SPECTRE as Christoph Waltz joins cast as villain


Story by Jack Foley

THE 24th James Bond adventure will be called SPECTRE.

Sam Mendes once again directs following his success with Skyfall while Daniel Craig reprises his role as 007 for the fourth time.

SPECTRE begins principal photography on Monday, December 8, and is set for global release on November 6, 2015.

Along with Craig, Ralph Fiennes, Naomie Harris, Ben Whishaw and Rory Kinnear will all return as, respectively, M, Moneypenny, Q and Tanner.

The film will also introduce Christoph Waltz, Léa Seydoux, Dave Bautista, Monica Bellucci and Andrew Scott.

The launch of the 24th 007 adventure took place at Pinewood Studios on Thursday morning (December 4, 2014), when director Mendes also revealed Bond’s sleek new Aston Martin, the DB10, created exclusively for SPECTRE.

The plot concerns a cryptic message from Bond’s past that sends him on a trail to uncover a sinister organisation.

Meanwhile M battles political forces to keep the secret service alive, Bond peels back the layers of deceit to reveal the terrible truth behind SPECTRE.

The 007 production will be based at Pinewood Studios and on location in London, Mexico City, Rome and Tangier and Erfoud, in Morocco.

Bond will return to the snow once again, this time in Sölden, along with other Austrian locations, Obertilliach, and Lake Altaussee.

Commenting on the announcement, Wilson and Broccoli said: “We’re excited to announce Daniel’s fourth installment in the series and thrilled that Sam has taken on the challenge of following on the success of Skyfall with SPECTRE.”

Written by John Logan and Neal Purvis & Robert Wade, Director of Photography is Hoyte van Hoytema and Editor is Lee Smith.

Skyfall, the 23rd James Bond film, was a worldwide box office phenomenon, opening No.1 in 70 territories around the world, taking over $1.1 billion worldwide and setting a new all-time box office record in the UK by becoming the first film to take over £100 million.

Next story: Will Smith, Tom Hardy and Jared Leto for Suicide Squad