Follow Us on Twitter

Carol wins big at Gay and Lesbian Entertainment Critics Awards


Story by Jack Foley

TODD Haynes’ period romance Carol has swept the board at the Gay and Lesbian Entertainment Critics’ Awards.

A week after the film was overlooked in a lot of the major categories at this year’s Oscars, it took home five of the night’s top prizes.

In addition to the night’s top prize for film of the year, the picture also saw Haynes named best director and Cate Blanchett take best actress. There was a further award for the film’s screenplay.

Haynes also took the Wilde Artist of the Year Award (named after the group’s ‘patron saint’, Oscar Wilde), while the film was named LGBTQ Film of the Year as well.

Leonardo DiCaprio was named best actor for his performance in The Revenant, while there were also prizes for Asif Kapadia’s Amy (best documentary) and Holocaust drama Son of Saul (best foreign language film).

George Miller’s Mad Max: Fury Road was named visually striking film of the year, while Unsung Film of the Year went to Sean S. Baker’s transgender comedy-drama Tangerine,

On the television side, Fargo and Orange is the New Black tied for the drama series award, while Amazon’s acclaimed drama Transparent won a hat-trick of prizes: for best comedy series, comedy actor (Jeffrey Tambor) and LGBTQ show of the year.

The winners in full

Film of the Year

Director of the Year
Todd Haynes, Carol

Film Actor of the Year
Leonardo Dicaprio, The Revenant

Film Actress of the Year
Cate Blanchett, Carol

LGBTQ Film of the Year

Foreign Language Film of the Year
Son of Saul

Screenplay of the Year

Documentary of the Year

Visually Striking Film of the Year
Mad Max: Fury Road

Unsung Film of the Year

Campy Flick of the Year
Magic Mike XXL

TV Drama of the Year
Fargo & Orange is the New Black

TV Comedy of the Year

TV Actor of the Year
Jeffrey Tambor, Transparent

TV Actress of the Year
Taraji P. Henson, Empire

LGBTQ Show of the Year

Unsung TV Show of the Year

TV Current Affairs Show of the Year
Last Week Tonight With John Oliver

Campy TV Show of the Year

TV Musical Performance of the Year
Aretha Franklin

The ‘We’re Wilde About You’ Rising Star Award
Alicia Vikander

Wilde Wit of the Year
Amy Schumer

Wilde Artist of the Year
Todd Haynes

Timeless Award
Jane Fonda (previously announced)