Follow Us on Twitter

Directors Guild of America Awards: Ben Affleck triumphs with Argo


Story by Jack Foley

BEN Affleck continued his hot awards streak by taking yet another prize for Argo at the 65th annual Directors Guild of America Awards ceremony.

The actor-director won the DGA Award for Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Feature Films at an awards dinner on Saturday night (February 2, 2013) at the Ray Dolby Ballroom at Hollywood & Highland.

It further heightens the film’s prospects of landing best film at the Oscars, particularly as Affleck was shockingly snubbed in the best director category when the Academy announced its nominations – the DGA Award usually is a good indicator of which director will win since only on six occasions since the DGA Awards began in 1948 has the DGA winner failed to become the Academy’s winner too.

Upon accepting the accolade, Affleck said: “I don’t think this makes ma a real director, but I think it means I’m on my way.”

Argo has now won two Golden Globes, two Critics’ Choice Awards, the PGA Award and the SAG ensemble award.

It’s DGA triumph for Affleck came at the expense of Kathryn Bigelow, nominated for Zero Dark Thirty, Tom Hooper (for Les Miserables), Ang Lee (for Life of Pi) and Steven Spielberg (for Lincoln).

A further DGA film award for outstanding documentary went to Malik Bendjelloul for Searching For Sugar Man, which examines the life and career of musician Sixto Rodriguez.

On the TV side of things, Lena Dunham was recognised for directing the pilot of her HBO comedy, Girls.

Jay Roach claimed the award for best MOV/Mini-series for his Sarah Palin-focused HBO film Game Change and Rian Johnson was honored in the dramatic series category for an episode of AMC’s Breaking Bad.

He said he was “lucky and privileged to ride on the bus for a couple of stops”.

Director Milos Forman was this year’s recipient of the guild’s Lifetime Achievement Award.

Next awards story: NAACP Image Awards 2013: Kerry Washington and Denzel Washington triumph