Follow Us on Twitter

Gotham Independent Film Awards: Marriage Story scoops top prizes

Marriage Story

Story by Jack Foley

NOAH Baumbach’s Marriage Story won all four awards it was nominated for at the Gotham Independent Film Awards, including the top prize of best feature.

The divorce drama, starring Scarlett Johansson and Adam Driver, follows a couple negotiating custody of their son. It also won best screenplay for Baumbach and best actor for Driver, as well as the audience award — voted on by IFP members.

The best actress prize, meanwhile, went to Awkwafina for her performance in The Farewell, which had gone into the evening with three nominations in total.

Adam Sandler’s Uncut Gems and The Last Black Man in San Francisco had also picked up three nominations but left empty-handed.

Previously announced tribute awards went to actors Laura Dern and Sam Rockwell, director Ava DuVernay, and FilmNation CEO Glen Basner.

Dern has a supporting role in Marriage Story, while DuVernay wrote, directed and executive produced When They See Us.

Gotham Award nominees are selected by committees of film critics, journalists, festival programmers and film curators. Separate juries of writers, directors, actors, producers, editors and others directly involved in making films determine the final award recipients.

The Gotham winners at a glance…

Best Feature
Marriage Story

Best Documentary
American Factory

Bingham Ray Breakthrough Director Award
Laure De Clermont-Tonnerre for The Mustang

Best Screenplay
Marriage Story

Best Actor
Adam Driver, Marriage Story

Best Actress
Awkwafina, The Farewell

Breakthrough Actor
Taylor Russell, Waves

Breakthrough Series – Long Format
When They See Us, Ava DuVernay, creator; Jeff Skoll, Jonathan King, Jane Rosenthal, Robert De Niro, Berry Welsh, Oprah Winfrey, Ava DuVernay, executive producers (Netflix)

Breakthrough Series – Short Format
PEN15, Maya Erskine, Anna Konkle, Sam Zvibleman, creators; Anna Konkle, Sam Zvibleman, Debbie Liebling, Gabe Liedman, Marc Provissiero, Brooke Pobjoy, Andy Samberg, Jorma Taccone, Akiva Schaffer, Becky Sloviter, Shelley Zimmerman, Brin Lukens, Jordan Levin, executive producers (Hulu)

Audience Award
Marriage Story