Follow Us on Twitter

Gravity picks up top cinematography prize at ASC Awards


Story by Jack Foley

EMMANUEL “Chivo” Lubezki’s work on Alfonso Cuaron’s space drama Gravity has been recognised with the top prize at the American Society of Cinematographers Outstanding Achievement Awards.

The film saw off competition from Roger Deakins for Prisoners as well as Sean Bobbitt for 12 Years a Slave, Barry Ackroyd for Captain Phillips, Philippe Le Sourd for The Grandmaster, Bruno Delbonnel for Inside Llewyn Davis and Phedon Papamichael for Nebraska.

The award marks the third victory for Lubezki in the ASC’s 28-year history. He previously won for Children of Men (another collaboration with Cuaron) and Terrence Malick’s The Tree of Life.

The accolade also places him in firm contention for Oscar success. Lubezki is nominated for the sixth time but is vying for his first Academy Award.

In the TV categories, Jonathan Freeman picked up the ASC for HBO’s Game of Thrones (for the episode entitled Valar Dohaeris), while Jeremy Benning won the CSC for National Geographic Channel’s Killing Lincoln.

Veteran cinematographer Dean Cundey, who earned an Oscar nomination for Robert Zemeckis’ Who Framed Roger Rabbit?, received the ASC Lifetime Achievement Award.

His other credits include Zemeckis’ Back To The Future trilogy, Steven Spielberg’s Jurassic Park and Ron Howard’s Apollo 13.

Next story: Writers Guild Awards 2014: Her and Captain Phillips win