Follow Us on Twitter

Guillermo del Toro commences principal photography on The Shape of Water

Story by Jack Foley

PRINCIPAL photography has commenced on Guillermo del Toro’s new film, The Shape of Water.

The film stars Academy Award nominee Sally Hawkins (Blue Jasmine, Happy Go-Lucky), Academy Award nominee Michael Shannon (Revolutionary Road, 99 Homes, Boardwalk Empire), Academy Award nominee Richard Jenkins (The Visitor and TV’s Olive Kitteridge), Doug Jones (Crimson Peak, Hellboy), Golden Globe nominee Michael Stuhlbarg (A Serious Man, Steve Jobs) and Academy Award winner Octavia Spencer (The Help, Gifted).

Academy Award nominated del Toro will direct and co-write with Vanessa Taylor (Game of Thrones, Divergent).

The Shape of Water is described as an other-worldly story, set against the backdrop of Cold War era America circa 1963. A mysterious and magical journey from Guillermo del Toro.

del Toro commented: “I started working on The Shape of Water right around the time we moved to Toronto for Pacific Rim. Working with Fox Searchlight and being supported by this beautiful group of actors and artists, I feel extremely blessed and brave.”

One of the film’s producers, J Miles Dale, added: “It feels like we have an embarrassment of riches on this film. An ensemble of incredible actors who are working at the very top of their craft, a wildly original story from Guillermo’s one-of-a-kind mind, and the brilliant team at Fox Searchlight to shepherd us along. We’re all very excited to see how far we can take it.”

Next story: Ben Whishaw in talks for Mary Poppins sequel