Follow Us on Twitter

Harry Potter films to be honoured at BAFTAs

Harry Potter & The Deathly Hallows

Story by Jack Foley

THE Harry Potter film series is to receive an outstanding British contribution to cinema prize at this year’s BAFTA awards on February 13.

Potter author JK Rowling and franchise producer David Heyman will receive the award at the ceremony at London’s Royal Opera House.

In announcing their decision, BAFTA organisers said the films have “highlighted the expertise within the British craft and technical industries”.

The news comes just days after Harry Potter stars spoke out in the London Evening Standard about their disappointment that the film series had been overlooked at major awards ceremonies like the Oscars.

They acknowledged that while the film had garnered technical praise and nominations – totalling seven Oscar nods and 28 Bafta nominations – it had yet to be recognised among the acting or director categories.

Starting in 2001 with Harry Potter & The Philosopher’s Stone, the seven films released so far have made more than $5.4 billion worldwide.

An eighth and final instalment, Harry Potter & The Deathly Hallows: Part 2, will be released in July.

Speaking to the BBC in light of the BAFTA announcement, however, Potter star Daniel Radcliffe, 21, described the crew and the huge team of craftsmen behind all eight movies as “the real heroes” of the franchise.

“This award is a testament to their incredible work,” he said.

His co-star Emma Watson also described it as “a huge honour”, while Rupert Grint added: “Thank you so much BAFTA for this amazing award.”

Next story: Woody Allen’s Midnight in Paris to open Cannes