Follow Us on Twitter

Hunger Games finale Mockinjay to be split into two films

The Hunger Games

Story by Jack Foley

IT’S official. The final film in The Hunger Games franchise is to be split into two movies.

Lionsgate has dated the final two films for November 21, 2014, and November 20, 2015 – a year apart.

The movie emulates the policy of splitting big books into two films that was started with Harry Potter & The Deathly Hallows, Parts 1 and 2 and continued with The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn – Part 1 and the forthcoming Part 2.

The Hunger Games became an instant big-screen franchise earlier this year when the first movie, starring Jennifer Lawrence and Josh Hutcherson, grossed $678.2 million world-wide, including $404.4 million in the US.

The second film, The Hunger Games: Catching Fire, is due to open on November 22, 2013, under the direction of Francis Lawrence. Philip Seymour Hoffman was recently confirmed as having landed a key role in the sequel.

Next story: Peter O’Toole retires from acting