Follow Us on Twitter

James McAvoy, Lindsay Duncan and Metro Manila win at British Independent Film Awards (2013)

Metro Manila

Story by Jack Foley

JAMES McAvoy and Julie Walters were among the winners at the British Independent Film Awards.

But the night’s biggest winner was undoubtedly Metro Manila (pictured) which won three prizes, including Best British Independent Film and best director for Sean Ellis. The third award came for best achievement in production.

McAvoy was named best actor for his role in Filth, the film adaptaion of Irvine Welsh’s novel in which he plays a corrupt cop. Accepting the award,the X-Men star said: “It’s like Scotland’s won the World Cup”.

Duncan, meanwhile, won for Roger Michel’s Le Week-End, which follows a married couple on an anniversary weekend in Paris as they look to put their relationship under the spotlight.

Accepting her award, Duncan paid tribute to her co-star Jim Broadbent, saying: “You can’t play half a couple who’ve been married for 30 years without someone pretty special, and that is the legendary and wonderful Jim Broadbent.”

The best supporting actor prize went to Australian star Ben Mendelsohn for prison drama Starred Up, while Imogen Poots was named best supporting actress for The Look of Love.

Other prizes went to erotic French drama Blue Is The Warmest Colour, which was named the best international independent film, while best screenplay went to Steven Knight for Tom Hardy drama Locke.

The Machine took the Raindance Award, while the Special Jury Prize went to Sixteen Films and Friends, who work with veteran director Ken Loach and are known as Team Loach.

The awards were held on Sunday, December 8, 2013, and hosted by actor James Nesbitt.

There were also special awards handed out in recognition of long-time service to the industry. Julie Walters won the Richard Harris Award, Paul Greengrass took the Variety Award and Paul Wright took the The Douglas Hickox Award for his film, For Those in Peril.

Award winners at a glance…

Best British Independent Film
Metro Manila

Best Actor
James McAvoy for Filth

Best Actress
Lindsay Duncan for Le Week-end

Best Supporting Actor
Ben Mendelsohn for Starred Up

Best Supporting Actress
Imogen Poots for The Look of Love

Best Director
Sean Ellis for Metro Manila

Best Screenplay
Steven Knight for Locke

Most Promising Newcomer
Chloe Pirrie for The Shell

Best International Independent Film
Blue is the Warmest Colour

The Raindance Award
The Machine

Best British Short

Special Jury Prize
Sixteen Films and Friends

Best Technical Achievement
Amy Hubbard for casting on The Selfish Giant

Best Achievement in Production
Metro Manila

Best British Documentary
Pussy Riot: A Punk Prayer

The Variety Award
Paul Greengrass

The Douglas Hickox Award
Paul Wright for For Those in Peril

Richard Harris Award
Julie Walters