Follow Us on Twitter

Kate Winslet to be honoured at British Independent Film Awards

Kate Winslet in Little Children

Story by Jack Foley

KATE Winslet will receive The Variety Award at this year’s Moet British Independent Film Awards on Sunday, December 6, 2015.

The Variety Award recognises a director, actor, writer or producer who has made a global impact and helped to focus the international spotlight on the UK.

Benedict Cumberbatch received the accolade last year while previous recipients include Paul Greengrass, Jude Law, Kenneth Branagh, Liam Neeson, Sir Michael Caine, Daniel Craig, Dame Helen Mirren and Richard Curtis.

Winslet commented: “I am thrilled to be receiving this Award and to be in the company of a whole host of brilliant filmmakers and actors, many of whom I’m lucky enough to call friends and colleagues. It’s an honour to be flying the flag for British filmmaking.”

Variety Executive Editor, Steven Gaydos, said: “From the beginning of her illustrious film career over 20 years ago, Kate Winslet has never ceased her eagerness to tackle new creative challenges and to turn those challenges into amazing, lasting performances.

“Her current film, Steve Jobs, is no exception and once again, the Awards Season conversation is immeasurably enlivened by her presence.”

Winslet won both the Academy Award and BAFTA for her portrayal as Hanna Schmitz in The Reader in 2008. She also won two Golden Globes that same year for her performance in The Reader and in Revolutionary Road alongside Leonardo DiCaprio.

Her extensive CV consists of critically and commercially acclaimed work. Some of her most memorable roles have been in Titanic, Sense and Sensibility, Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind and Little Children.

She also won an Emmy for her role in HBO’s Mildred Pierce in 2010.

She is one of the handful of actresses to have won three of the four major American entertainment awards (EGOT), with her Oscar, Emmy and Grammy wins.

The full list of nominations for the 2015 Moet British Independent Film Awards will be announced on Tuesday, November 3. The awards ceremony will take place on Sunday, December 6 at Old Billingsgate, London.

Next story: Elizabeth Banks to direct Pitch Perfect 3