Follow Us on Twitter

Marvel to give Avengers: Infinity War Part II a new name

Captain America: Civil War

Story by Jack Foley

MARVEL’S Avengers: Infinity War Part II is to be given a new name to reflect the different storyline it will tell.

The announcement was made on Friday by the studio, when it also confirmed that the next film in the Avengers series will now simply be called Avengers: Infinity War.

Its release date of May 4, 2018 remains unchanged.

For now, Infinity War: Part II is now being referred to as an untitled Avengers movie, although its release date also remains unchanged: May 3, 2019.

Joe and Anthony Russo are still co-directing both films but the change of titles merely confirms something they alluded to while on the international press tour for Captain America: Civil War in May.

It was then that Joe said: “The two movies are two very different movies.The intention is we will change it, we just haven’t come up with the [final] titles yet. But, yes, we will change it.”

Brother Anthony added that the Part 1 and Part II moniker was misleading.

Needless to say, very little is known about the plot of the untitled Avengers movie.

But Infinity War will be derived from a classic 1992 comic book series in which the heroes of the Marvel Universe were brought together to fight sinister dopplegangers of themselves, who were created by a cosmic entity called the Magus. His motive for doing that was to gain control of the Infinity Gauntlet.

Marvel Cinematic Universe viewers got a glimpse of the Gauntlet at the end of Avengers: Age of Ultron, when Thanos (played by Josh Brolin) put on the glove and vowed: “Fine. I’ll do it myself.”

According to the comic books, once the Infinity Stones are placed on the Gauntlet, it grants the wearer god-like powers.

Next story: Mackenzie Foy and Morgan Freeman for Disney’s The Nutcracker