Follow Us on Twitter

Middle Hobbit film renamed The Desolation of Smaug

The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey

Story by Jack Foley

THE second of Peter Jackson’s three Hobbit films has been re-named The Desolation of Smaug.

Warner Bros. Pictures and MGM announced late on Friday (August 31, 2012) that the second film in the series had been retitled. It also confirmed a release date of December 13, 2013.

The recently announced third and final film is called The Hobbit: There and Back Again and will follow Smaug into cinemas on July 18, 2014.

The first film, The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey, is still set to open on December 14, 2012.

Fans of JRR Tolkien’s books will know that The Desolation of Smaug refers to the wasteland surrounding the Lonely Mountain, which also happens to mark the lair of the dragon Smaug who is responsible for stealing the dwarf treasure that launches Bilbo Baggins (Martin Freeman) onto his adventure.

It has fuelled speculation that the middle film will now focus on the confrontation that takes place between Bilbo and Smaug, who is being portrayed via performance capture by Benedict Cumberbatch.

If that is proven to be correct, it would leave the third film to concentrate on the Battle of Five Armies.

Next story: Zac Efron to star in Are We Officially Dating?