Follow Us on Twitter

Moonlight and American Honey lead Independent Spirit nominations


Story by Jack Foley

ANDREA Arnold’s American Honey and racial drama Moonlight lead the nominees for this year’s Independent Spirit Awards with six nods each.

American Honey, which follows a group of teenagers as they drift across the US selling magazine subscriptions, will face off against Moonlight, which looks at the life of a young black man growing up in a tough Miami neighbourhood, in the categories of best director (Andrea Arnold and Barry Jenkins), cinematography and editing.

American Honey also earned nominations for best female lead (Sasha Lane), best supporting male (Shia LaBeouf) and best supporting female (Riley Keough), while Moonlight will vy for best cinematography and editing. It has also been selected to receive the Robert Altman Award given to one film’s director, casting director and ensemble cast.

Also in the running for best feature are Casey Affleck’s Oscar-tipped drama Manchester By The Sea, Natalie Portman’s Jackie and Chronic.

In addition to best feature, Manchester By The Sea is nominated for best editing, best male lead (Affleck), best screenplay and best supporting male (Lucas Hedges).

While political drama Jackie also got a best editing nomination as well as one for star Natalie Portman, who’s up for best female lead for her portrayal of Jacqueline Kennedy.

Jackie‘s Pablo Larrain is also in the running for best director along with Loving‘s Jeff Nichols and Certain Women‘s Kelly Reichardt.

Crime drama Hell or High Water scored three nominations, including best screenplay for Taylor Sheridan and Ben Foster as best supporting actor.

20th Century Women, Certain Women, The Childhood of a Leader, Chronic, The Fits, Little Men, Loving, Spa Night, Swiss Army Man and The Witch all scored two nominations each.

A number of movies that boast plenty of Oscar buzz were deemed ineligible for this year’s Spirit Award nominations, including Oscar frontrunner La La Land as well as Tom Ford’s Nocturnal Animals and A Monster Calls.

The 32nd Film Independent Spirit Awards will be presented on Saturday, February 25, 2017. As usual, the show will be held in a tent on the beach in Santa Monica, just north of the Santa Monica Pier.

The nominations in full

Best Feature
American Honey
Manchester by the Sea

Best First Feature
The Childhood of a Leader
The Fits
Other People
Swiss Army Man
The Witch

Best Female Lead
Annette Bening – 20th Century Women
Isabelle Huppert – Elle
Sasha Lane – American Honey
Ruth Negga – Loving
Natalie Portman – Jackie

Best Male Lead
Casey Affleck – Manchester by the Sea
David Harewood – Free In Deed
Viggo Mortensen – Captain Fantastic
Jesse Plemons – Other People
Tim Roth – Chronic

Best Supporting Female
Edwina Findley – Free In Deed
Paulina Garcia – Little Men
Lily Gladstone – Certain Women
Riley Keough – American Honey
Molly Shannon – Other People

Best Supporting Male
Ralph Fiennes – A Bigger Splash
Ben Foster – Hell or High Water
Lucas Hedges – Manchester by the Sea
Shia LaBeouf – American Honey
Craig Robinson – Morris from America

John Cassavettes Award
Free In Deed
Hunter Gatherer
Spa Night

Best Director
Andrea Arnold – American Honey
Barry Jenkins – Moonlight
Pablo Larrain – Jackie
Jeff Nichols – Loving
Kelly Reichardt – Certain Women

Best Screenplay
Barry Jenkins (Story By Tarell Alvin McCraney) – Moonlight
Kenneth Lonergan – Manchester by the Sea
Mike Mills – 20th Century Women
Ira Sachs & Mauricio Zacharias – Little Men
Taylor Sheridan – Hell or High Water

Best First Screenplay
Robert Eggers – The Witch
Chris Kelly – Other People
Adam Mansbach – Barry
Stella Meghie – Jean of the Joneses
Craig Shilowich – Christine

Best Cinematography
Ava Berkofsky – Free In Deed
Lol Crawley – The Childhood of a Leader
Zach Kuperstein – The Eyes of My Mother
James Laxton -Moonlight
Robbie Ryan – American Honey

Best Editing
Matthew Hannam – Swiss Army Man
Jennifer Lame – Manchester by the Sea
Joi McMillon, Nat Sanders – Moonlight
Jake Roberts – Hell or High Water
Sebastian Sepulveda – Jackie

Robert Altman Award

Best Documentary
I Am Not Your Negro
O.J.: Made in America
Under the Sun

Best International Film
Aquarius (Brazil)
Chevalier (Greece)
My Golden Days (France)
Toni Erdmann (Germany and Romania)
Under the Shadow (U.K., Jordan and Qatar)