Follow Us on Twitter

Pop Up Screens announces Cinema in the Snow programme for Christmas 2017

Story by Jack Foley

THE Legendary Pop Up Screens that saw Londoners enjoying blockbusters throughout summer is back to see us through the Christmas period from December 8-24, 2017.

Hackney Showroom in East London will be unrecognisible after it undergoes the Pop Up Screen Christmas treatment. Doors are done away with… instead the audience will enter through a magical wardrobe and arrive in a winter wonderland lined with fir trees, dusted with snow and mulled wine on tap.

This year’s repertoire aims to bring the wonder of Christmas to people of all ages in an unforgettably festive surrounding. Classics include the likes of The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe, Home Alone, Love Actually, Miracle on 34th Street, and, of course, Elf.

These will be interspersed with the more recent Oscar approved La La Land, Disney’s hugely popular Frozen and the comically acclaimed Bad Santa.

In this snow filled winter wonderland, audiences will of course find popcorn from Drum and Kernel, as well as handmade brownies, craft beer, pimped hot chocolate and lovely festive mulled wine (It’d be rude not to).

Pop Up Screens founder David Leydon said: “Christmas is our chance to do something special and to build an experience for our audience. When you were 5, you wanted to climb into your wardrobe and find something amazing at the back of it – now you finally can!”

Children’s ticket prices start from £5 and adults from £10.

Tickets are now on sale here

Pop-Up Screens Complete Winter 2016 Programme, Hackney Showroom

Fri 8 December
Elf
20:30

Sat 9 December
Frozen
13:00

Elf
17:00

Love Actually
20:30

Sun 10 December
Toy Story
13:00

Home Alone
17:00

Elf
20:30

Mon 11 December
La La Land
20:30

Tue 12 December
Elf
20:30

Wed 13 December
The Lion, The Witch & The Wardrobe
16:00

Bad Santa
20:30

Thu 14 December
Harry Potter 1
16:00

Home Alone 2
20:30

Fri 15 December
The Grinch
16:00

Home Alone
20:30

Sat 16 December
White Christmas
13:00

Muppets Christmas Carol
17:00

Love Actually
20:30

Sun 17 December
Elf
13:00

Miracle on 34th Street (1947)
17:00

Sleepless in Seattle
20:30

Mon 18 December
Home Alone
20:30

Tue 19 December
Nightmare Before Christmas
20:30

Wed 20 December
Arthur Christmas
16:00

Elf
20:30

Thu 21 December
The Santa Clause
16:00

Love Actually
20:30

Fri 22 December
Muppets Christmas Carol
16:00

It’s a Wonderful Life
20:30

Sat 23 December
Miracle on 34th Street
13:00

Elf
17:00

Love Actually
20:30

Sun 24 December
Home Alone
14:00

Elf
19:00

*please note start time is the film start time, doors open one hour before each performance.

About Pop Up Screens

Pop Up Screens provides a pop-up cinema experience to moviegoers. We try to bring brilliant movies to cool locations. Over the summer we’re outdoors and then in the winter we try our hand at some more immersive cinema experiences.

Pop Up Screens have been running for five years now and very nearly know what they’re doing, but we’re always open to good ideas.