Follow Us on Twitter

Screen Actors Guild Awards: Chiwetel Ejiofor and Michael Fassbender lead British nominees

Twelve Years A Slave

Story by Jack Foley

CHIWETEL Ejiofor and Michael Fassbender (both pictured) lead a strong British presence among the nominees for the 2014 Screen Actors Guild (SAG) awards.

Both men are shortlisted for Steve McQueen’s drama Twelve Years A Slave – Ejiofor as best actor and Fassbender as best supporting actor.

They are joined by fellow British stars Emma Thompson and Dame Judi Dench, who will compete for the best actress award for their performances in Saving Mr Banks and Philomena respectively.

The SAG awards are often seen as key indicators for the Oscars, with the winners being announced on January 18, 2014, across five film categories and eight TV categories.

In the best actor category, Ejiofor will compete against Hollywood veteran Bruce Dern for Nebraska, Tom Hanks in Captain Phillips, Matthew McConaughey in Dallas Buyers Club and Forest Whitaker in The Butler.

Fassbender, meanwhile, goes head to head for best supporting actor with Barkhad Abdi for Captain Phillips, Jared Leto in Dallas Buyers Club, Daniel Bruhl in Rush and the late James Gandolfini in Enough Said.

For best actress, Thompson and Dame Judi vie with fellow Oscar winners Meryl Streep, for August: Osage County, Sandra Bullock for Gravity and Cate Blanchett in Woody Allen’s Blue Jasmine.

While the best supporting actress category is comprised of Oprah Winfrey for her performance in The Butler, Oscar winner Jennifer Lawrence for American Hustle, Osage County‘s Julia Roberts, Nebraska‘s June Squib and Lupita Nyong’o for Twelve Years A Slave.

The nomination for the best ensemble cast – which is viewed as the key film award of the night – is shared by 12 Years A Slave, August: Osage County, The Butler, Dallas Buyers Club and David O Russell’s American Hustle.

View the TV nominees

Next awards story: AFI name best films of 2013

Next story: Martin Scorsese talks retirement after a couple more films