Follow Us on Twitter

Star Wars: Episode VIII to be named The Last Jedi

Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Story by Jack Foley

STAR Wars: Episode VIII has been given a new name: Star Wars: The Last Jedi.

The film, directed by Rian Johnson, picks up immediately after the events of 2015’s Star Wars: The Force Awakens, which concluded with Daisy Ridley’s Rey finding Luke Skywalker (Mark Hamill), who had been living in seclusion, following the death of Han Solo (Harrison Ford) at the hands of Kylo Ren (Adam Driver).

News of the confirmed name adds to the expectation surrounding the release of the film’s first trailer, which many had expected to have arrived by now.

The film is out on December 15, 2017.

The cast also includes the late Carrie Fisher as Princess Leia, who died on December 27, 2016.

The Star Wars luminary had already completed her work for the film, but has also been scheduled to appear in Episode IX, which has yet to commence filming.

However, Lucasfilm has said it has no plans to use a digital re-creation of Fisher as Leia, as they did in December’s Rogue One: A Star Wars Story.

The Last Jedi also stars Adam Driver, John Boyega, Oscar Isaac, Lupita Nyong’o, Domhnall Gleeson, Anthony Daniels, Gwendoline Christie and Andy Serkis. They’ll be joined by franchise newcomers Benicio Del Toro, Laura Dern and Kelly Marie Tran.

The film’s director, Johnson, is best known for his work on Breaking Bad as well as the films Looper and Brick.

Next story: M Night Shyamalan’s Split beats xXx: The Return of Xander Cage to US top spot