Follow Us on Twitter

The 19th Jameson Empire Awards: James McAvoy, Emma Thompson and Gravity among winners


Story by Jack Foley

IT WAS honours even at the 19th Jameson Empire Awards as – true to form – readers opted to reward a diverse range of films, from crowd-pleasing blockbusters to the awards heavy-hitters.

Hence, there were top prizes for Oscar winners Gravity and 12 Years A Slave as well as blockbusters such as The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug and The Hunger Games: Catching Fire.

12 Years picked up an overdue accolade for Michael Fassbender as best supporting actor but sci-fi drama Gravity proved the night’s biggest winners, walking off with Best Film and best director for Alfonso Cuaron, who repeated his Oscar-winning success.

The Hobbit, which had gone into the evening with the most nominations (seven), came away with prizes for best sci-fi/fantasy and best male newcomer for Aidan Turner. The Hunger Games, meanwhile, took best thriller.

There were also a couple of big surprises in the main acting categories, where James McAvoy beat the likes of Chiwetel Ejiofor, Leonardo DiCaprio and Tom Hanks to best actor for his role in Filth and Emma Thompson pipped Amy Adams, Jennifer Lawrence and Oscar winner Cate Blanchett to best actress for her performance in Saving Mr Banks.

Further notable awards went to Simon Pegg, who was crowned Empire Hero, and whose latest film, The World’s End took Best British Film, and to Margot Robbie, of The Wolf of Wall Street fame, who took best female newcomer.

Sally Hawkins, meanwhile, got one over her Blue Jasmine co-star Cate Blanchett by picking up best supporting actress, having missed out in the major awards.

Arnold Schwarzenegger was named The Action Hero Of Our Lifetime, Empire’s Inspiration award was bestowed upon Paul Greengrass (whose Captain Phillips left otherwise empty-handed) and the Done in 60 Seconds prize went to David Smith for his short, There Will Be Blood.

The Wolverine star Hugh Jackman was named this year’s Empire Icon.

The awards were presented on on Sunday, March 30, and were hosted by James Nesbitt.

Full list of winners (and nominees)

Best film
12 Years A Slave
Captain Phillips
The Hobbit: The Desolation Of Smaug
The Hunger Games: Catching Fire

Best actor
Chiwetel Ejiofor (12 Years A Slave)
James McAvoy (Filth)
Leonardo DiCaprio (The Wolf Of Wall Street)
Martin Freeman (The Hobbit: The Desolation Of Smaug)
Tom Hanks (Captain Phillips)

Best actress
Amy Adams (American Hustle)
Cate Blanchett (Blue Jasmine)
Emma Thompson (Saving Mr Banks)
Jennifer Lawrence (The Hunger Games: Catching Fire)
Sandra Bullock (Gravity)

Best supporting actor
Daniel Bruhl (Rush)
Michael Fassbender (12 Years A Slave)
Sam Claflin (The Hunger Games: Catching Fire)
Richard Armitage (The Hobbit: The Desolation Of Smaug)
Tom Hiddleston (Thor: The Dark World)

Best supporting actress
Evangeline Lilly (The Hobbit: The Desolation Of Smaug)
Jennifer Lawrence (American Hustle)
Lupita Nyong’o (12 Years A Slave)
Mia Wasikowska (Stoker)
Sally Hawkins (Blue Jasmine)

Best director
Alfonso Cuaron (Gravity)
Edgar Wright (The World’s End)
Paul Greengrass (Captain Phillips)
Peter Jackson (The Hobbit: The Desolation Of Smaug)
Steve McQueen (12 Years A Slave)

Best British film
Alan Partridge: Alpha Papa
Sunshine On Leith
The World’s End

Best horror
A Field In England
The Conjuring
Evil Dead
World War Z
You’re Next

Best comedy
Alan Partridge: Alpha Papa
Anchorman 2: The Legend Continues
This Is 40
This Is The End
The World’s End

Best thriller
Captain Phillips
The Hunger Games: Catching Fire
Now You See Me

Best sci-fi/fantasy
The Hobbit: The Desolation Of Smaug
The Hunger Games: Catching Fire
Pacific Rim
Star Trek Into Darkness

Best male newcomer
Aidan Turner (The Hobbit: The Desolation Of Smaug)
Barkhad Abdi (Captain Phillips)
George MacKay (Sunshine On Leith)
Oscar Isaac (Inside Llewyn Davis)
Tye Sheridan (Mud)
Will Poulter (We’re The Millers)

Best female newcomer
Adele Exarchopoulos (Blue Is The Warmest Colour)
Antonia Thomas (Sunshine On Leith)
Elizabeth Debicki (The Great Gatsby)
Freya Mavor (Sunshine On Leith)
Lupita Nyong’o (12 Years A Slave)
Margot Robbie (The Wolf of Wall Street)

Empire Icon
Hugh Jackman

The Action Hero of Our Lifetime
Arnold Schwarzenegger

Empire Hero
Simon Pegg

Empire Inspiration
Paul Greengrass

Done In 60 Seconds
There Will Be Blood