Follow Us on Twitter

The Hunger Games cut for 12A certificate in UK

The Hunger Games

Story by Jack Foley

THE Hunger Games has been cut by the BBFC (The British Board of Film Classification) in order to gain a 12A certificate in the UK.

In total, seven seconds have been cut in accordance with the BBFC guidelines, meaning that blood and gore splashes have had to be digitally removed in order to maximise its box office potential.

Suzanne Collins’ The Hunger Games is set in a futuristic, post-apocalyptic American society where teenages must fight to the death against opponents for a live TV show.

It stars Oscar nominee Jennifer Lawrence as well as Josh Hutcherson, Lenny Kravtiz, Elizabeth Banks, Stanley Tucci and Woody Harrelson.

According to a statement issued by the BBFC, Lionsgate – the film’s distributor – “chose to make cuts in order to achieve a 12A classification”.

It added: “An uncut 15 classification was available. These cuts were made in addition to reductions already made following an earlier ‘advice’ viewing of an incomplete version.”

According to box office trackers in the US, The Hunger Games is set to open bigger than Twilight. The film is due to open in UK cinemas on March 23.

Related: View character posters l View photos

Next story: John Carter opens to ‘soft’ $30.6 million in US