Follow Us on Twitter

Woody Allen to get Cecil B DeMille award at Golden Globes

Woody Allen directs Scarlett Johansson in Match Point

Story by Jack Foley

WOODY Allen is to receive the prestigious Cecil B DeMille Award for contribution to cinema at next year’s Golden Globes (2014).

The veteran director, 77, has made 49 films and won Oscars as both director and screenwriter for one of his most famous, Annie Hall. In total, he has won four Oscars from a total of 23 Oscar nominations.

Other hits include Manhattan, The Purple Rose of Cairo, Hannah and Her Sisters, Crimes and Misdemeanours and Bullets Over Broadway.

His latest, Blue Jasmine stars Cate Blanchett as a socialite whose life of privilege comes to an abrupt halt during the financial crisis. It is being tipped to land Blanchette an Oscar nomination.

Awards organiser Theo Kingma said: “There is no one more worthy.”

It remains to be seen, however, whether Allen will attend the ceremony in January to collect his accolade as the filmmaker usually shuns Hollywood events – he failed to turn up last year, for instance, where he won best original screenplay for his Parisian time-travel comedy Midnight In Paris.

He maintains he would rather concentrate on making films and aims to release a picture a year.

Born Allen Stewart Konigsberg in 1935, Woody Allen started out by writing gags for entertainers like Bob Hope and Sid Caesar before moving on to stand-up comedy in his own right.

From there, he also penned scripts for The Tonight Show and wrote columns for The New Yorker, before making his debut as a Broadway playwright with the Cold War farce Don’t Drink The Water in 1966.

A film adaptation followed, which drew a lukewarm response, before his script for What’s New Pussycat? also failed to generate much critical warmth. He subsequently decided to step behind the camera himself and found fame and recognition with Annie Hall and Manhattan, which remain classics to this day.

The Cecil B DeMille award places Allen in some esteemed company, along with Walt Disney, Alfred Hitchcock, Martin Scorsese, Audrey Hepburn and Elizabeth Taylor.

Last year’s recipient was Jodie Foster.

Next story: Insidious Chapter 2 enjoys one of the best horror debuts in US history