Follow Us on Twitter

Writers Guild Awards 2014: Her and Captain Phillips win


Story by Jack Foley

SPIKE Jonze’s Her and Paul Greengrass’s Captain Phillips emerged as the winners at the 2014 Writers’ Guild Awards.

Her beat American Hustle, Blue Jasmine, Dallas Buyers Club and Nebraska to the prize for original screenplay (for Jonze himself).

While Billy Ray’s screenplay for Captain Phillips beat Before Midnight, August: Osage County, Lone Survivor and The Wolf of Wall Street to best adapated screenplay.

Both films will now have their chances of Oscar success enhanced and continue to underline the strength of this year’s awards field given that past awards ceremonies have chosen to look elsewhere among this year’s crop.

In TV awards, Breaking Bad continued its awards sweep for its final season, beating The Good Wife, Homeland, House of Cards and Mad Men to take the drama series honour.

And political comedy Veep took the comedy series category.

House of Cards, starring Kevin Spacey, was recognised in the new series category.

Next story: Emma Thompson joins The Long Midnight of Barney Thomson