Follow Us on Twitter

60 - Andrew Lloyd Webber

Review by Lizzie Guilfoyle

60 is a compilation album celebrating the 60th birthday of composer Sir Andrew Lloyd Webber, whose illustrious career has spanned four decades.

During that time, he has written the music for numerous highly successful musicals, among them Jesus Christ Superstar, Cats, Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat, Starlight Express, Evita, Sunset Boulevard, Whistle Down the Wind and perhaps the most popular of them all, The Phantom of the Opera – often incorporating various musical styles in a single production.

But his genius doesn’t stop there. He has also penned classical pieces such as Requiem – who can forget the haunting Pie Jesu which, somewhat surprisingly, made it into the UK pop charts – and Amigos Para Siempre (Friends for Life) which was specially written for the 1992 Barcelona Olympics.

Both are featured on 60 and performed by the original artists, Sarah Brightman, Paul Miles-Kingston and José Carreras.

However, and as you might well expect, 60 is predominantly a catalogue of musical numbers from Lloyd Webber’s many shows. Presented in no particular order, they are a mix of hit recordings and hits from cast albums performed by a diverse range of artists, including star names such as Shirley Bassey, Tom Jones, Petula Clark, Alice Cooper, Barbra Streisand, Barbara Dickson and even Elvis Presley for whom It’s Easy For You was specially written.

Also commendable is the choice of artists, particularly where two or more songs from a particular show are featured. Take Evita for instance – Don’t Cry for Me Argentina is performed by Julie Covington whose version topped the charts in 1977; Oh What A Circus by the original Che, David Essex; You Must Love Me by the big screen’s Eva Peron, Madonna; and Buenos Aires by the first Argentine actress to take on the role, Elena Roger.

And as you may have noticed, less familiar numbers are also included. As is Connie Fisher who performs Make Up My Heart from Starlight Express; Elaine Paige whose rendition of Memory is an essential ingredient of any Lloyd Webber compilation; and Lee Mead who, along with Donny Osmond and Jason Donovan, performs a number from Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat.

With 60 tracks – that’s one for every year of Lloyd Webber’s life – it’s impossible to mention them all. Suffice to say, if you’re a fan of Lloyd Webber’s music, you’ll love 60. If not, you probably won’t have read this far, so it’s immaterial. And just for the record, I love it.

Track listing:

Disc 1
1. Superstar – Murray Head.
2. Don’t Cry For Me Argentina – Julie Covington.
3. Phantom of The Opera Entr’Acte – Michael Reed, Original London Cast.
4. The Phantom Of The Opera – Sarah Brightman, Michael Crawford.
5. You Must Love Me – Madonna.
6. No Matter What – Boyzone.
7. Love Changes Everything – Michael Ball.
8. Any Dream Will Do – Lee Mead.
9. Take That Look Off Your Face – Marti Webb.
10. I Believe My Heart – Duncan James, Keedie.
11. Oh What A Circus – David Essex.
12. Memory – Elaine Paige.
13. I Don’t Know How To Love Him – Yvonne Elliman.
14. All I Ask Of You – Sarah Brightman, Cliff Richard.
15. Whistle Down The Wind – Andrea Ross.
16. Another Suitcase In Another Hall – Barbara Dickson.
17. As If We Never Said Goodbye – Barbra Streisand.
18. Masquerade – Original London Cast.
19. I’d Be Surprisingly Good For You – Linda Lewis.
20. Amigos Para Siempre – Sarah Brightman, José Carreras.

Disc 2
1. It’s Easy For You – Elvis Presley.
2. Close Every Door – Donny Osmond.
3. Memory – Barbra Streisand.
4. With One Look – Glenn Close.
5. Superstar – Anastacia.
6. The Last Man In My Life – Shirley Bassey.
7. Gus: The Theatre Cat – Susan Jane Tanner, John Mills.
8. The Vaults Of Heaven – Tom Jones, Sounds Of Blackness.
9. Tell Me On A Sunday – Denise Van Outen.
10. Chanson D’enfance – Sarah Brightman.
11. One Rock ‘N’ Roll Too Many – Maynard Williams, John Partridge.
12. The First Man You Remember – Kevin Colson and Diana Morrison.
13. Wishing You Were Somehow Here Again – Emmy Rossu.
14. A Kiss Is A Terrible Thing To Waste – The Metal Philharmonic Orchestra.
15. New Ways To Dream – Patti LuPone.
16. Starlight Express – El DeBarge.
17. Variations 1-4 – Andrew Lloyd Webber.
18. Crazy – Greg Ellis, Reva Rice, Caron Cardelle, Samantha Lane, Voyd.
19. Mr. Mistoffelees – Wayne Sleep, Paul Nicholas.
20. Cold – The Everly Brothers.

Disc 3
1. A Game Of Two Halves – Andrew Lloyd Webber.
2. God’s Own Country – Josie Walker, Dianne Pilkington.
3. Hosanna – Placido Domingo.
4. Requiem: Pie Jesu – Sarah Brightman, Paul Miles-Kingston.
5. The Music Of The Night – Michael Crawford.
6. The Perfect Year – Petula Clark.
7. Jellicle Ball – Andrew Lloyd Webber.
8. Evermore Without You – Martin Crewes.
9. Too Much In Love To Care – Sarah Brightman, John Barrowman.
10. All the Love I Have – Renée Fleming, Bryn Terfel.
11. Jesus Christ Superstar Overture – Andrew Lloyd Webber.
12. Sunset Boulevard – John Barrowman.
13. Unexpected Song – Sarah Brightman.
14. Half A Moment – José Carreras.
15. Let Us Love In Peace – Hannah Waddingham, Ben Goddard.
16. King Herod’s Song – Alice Cooper.
17. Buenos Aires – Elena Roger.
18. Learn To Be Lonely – Andrea Ross.
19. Make Up My Heart – Connie Fisher.
20. Any Dream Will Do – Jason Donovan.