Follow Us on Twitter

Tom Chaplin announces three special UK shows in December (2017)

Story by Jack Foley

TOM Chaplin follows the success of his acclaimed solo album The Wave (which debuted at No.3 in the UK Album Chart) with a glorious new disc Twelve Tales of Christmas, out November 17, on Island Records.

This collection features eight original songs co-written by Tom and four inventive covers.

In addition, Chaplin has announced three special UK shows in December, including a night at London’s Royal Festival Hall.

“Christmas is my favourite time of year,” says Tom who has fond memories from his childhood. “The passing years have conspired to erode that magic but I still feel it’s presence when I gather together with my family.”

Produced by David Kosten and recorded at Abbey Road, Muttley Ranch and Snap Studios, the album includes evocative covers of Walking In The Air, Joni Mitchell’s classic River, the Pretenders 2000 Miles and the E17’s Stay Another Day.

Determined to capture the wonderful side of Christmas music, Tom has written some soon to be modern day Christmas classics including new single Under A Million Lights and Midnight Mass.

“The four covers I chose are personal favourites and all very distinct from one another,” Tom says. “I found Christmas a great source of inspiration for writing my own songs. There’s a bittersweet quality to this time of year that made me want to explore the themes of love, lost love and remembering those we have lost.”

The three Chaplin live shows are (all December 2017)

10 – Manchester, Palace
11 – Bath, Forum
12 – London, Royal Festival Hall

Tickets go on sale on Friday, October 20 from 10am.

Foo Fighters to play three UK stadium shows in 2018

Foo Fighters

Story by Jack Foley

FOO Fighters have announced three massive UK stadium shows next summer, hot on the heels of their acclaimed number one album Concrete and Gold.

Last Saturday October 7, Foo Fighters curated and headlined their own Cal Jam 17 festival in San Bernardino, California, topping a bill featuring Queens of the Stone Age, Liam Gallagher, Royal Blood, The Kills, Cage the Elephant and a host of others.

Foo Fighters’ incendiary headline set was received rapturously by a crowd of Foo believers over 30,000 strong.

General tickets are available from 9am on Friday, October 20.

Foo Fighters play the following three dates (all June 2018)

19 – Manchester Etihad Stadium
22 & 23 – London Stadium

2017 has been the year that Foo Fighters returned bigger and better than ever with an album critics everywhere proclaimed to be one of the best of their illustrious career. Modern day classics including Run, La Dee Da and The Sky Is A Neighborhood are already live show favourites.

Foo Fighters are Dave Grohl, Taylor Hawkins, Nate Mendel, Chris Shiflett, Pat Smear and Rami Jaffee.

Gary Barlow announces solo tour for 2018

Gary Barlow

Story by Jack Foley

GARY Barlow has announced that he will embark on a tour of the UK in 2018, kicking off in April and playing 34 dates in 24 intimate venues.

Tickets go on sale at 10am on Friday, October 20.

The tour will see Gary play intimate venues across the UK and Ireland, including some never visited before.

The last time Gary played a string of venues this size, demand was so high he could have sold certain venues out six times over!

“I had such a lot of fun back in 2013 when I played those smaller venues because you’re so much closer to the fans,” said Gary of his forthcoming tour. “The audience always seem to love the intimacy of it all too. I’m also really looking forward to playing in a couple of cities I’ve never played before as well as getting a chance to meet the fans there.”

Gary last toured as a solo artist in 2014 to acclaim from fans and critics alike, playing some of the biggest venues he had ever played as a solo artist, including The O2 London, Birmingham LG Arena, Glasgow The SSE Hydro and Manchester Arena.

The UK tour dates are (all April, May and June 2018)

April
16 & 17 – Edinburgh Playhouse
19 – Perth Concert Hall
20 – Dundee Caird Hall
21 – Aberdeen BHGE Arena
23 & 24 – Hull City Hall
26 – Leicester De Montfort Hall
27 & 28 – Blackpool Opera House
30 – Sunderland Empire

May
1– Sunderland Empire
3 & 4 – Manchester O2 Apollo
8 – Belfast Waterfront
10 – Dublin BGE Theatre
12 – Kilarney, INEC
14 – Brighton, Centre
15 – Cardiff Motorpoint Arena
17 & 18 – London Palladium
21 & 22 – Llandudno, Venue Cymru
24 – Halifax Victoria Theatre
25 & 26 – Nottingham Royal Concert Hall
28 & 29 – Isle of Man Villa Marina
31 – Southend Cliffs Pavilion

June
1 – Bournemouth International Centre
4 – Sheffield City Hall
5 – Sheffield City Hall
8 – Thetford Forest
9 – Delamere Forest

Tickets go on sale on Friday, October 20 at 10am.

Seal announces Standards UK tour for 2018

Seal

Story by Jack Foley

SEAl has announced UK tour dates for 2018 in support of his tenth studio album Standards.

Backed by a big band, the multi-award winning star will be performing songs from the new album, alongside his classic hits Killer and Kiss From A Rose.

In a career spanning three decades, racking up over 30 million records sales worldwide and a string of Grammy, Brit and Ivor Novello awards along the way, Seal continues to shine as one of the world’s brightest music stars.

Standards brings the glamour of Old Hollywood straight to the present. It is a natural successor to his series of soul records, made a decade ago which sold over 5 million copies around the world.

Standards hears Seal’s signature vocals bring to life classics made popular by Frank Sinatra (such as Luck Be A Lady, I’ve Got You Under My Skin and It Was A Very Good Year), Ella Fitzgerald (I’m Beginning to See The Light) and Nina Simone (I Put A Spell on You).

Elsewhere, there are lush orchestral moments captured on Smile (Charlie Chaplin) and the Cole Porter gem, Love For Sale.

Seal said: “It’s great being back in my home country, and touring with this album is going to be such an experience. We have a full big band – it’s going to be amazing.”

The UK tour dates are (all February 2018)

10 – Edinburgh Usher Hall
11 – Glasgow Royal Concert Hall
13 – Gateshead The Sage
14 – Manchester O2 Apollo
17 – Brighton Dome
18 – Bristol Colston Hall
19 – Nottingham Royal Concert Hall
21 – Birmingham SYMPHONY Hall
22 – London Palladium

Pre-order the new album Standards from seal.com by Tuesday, October 17 to gain exclusive pre-sale ticket access from 10am on Wednesday, October 18, 48 hours before general sale.

Tickets go on general sale at 10am on Friday, October 20.

The Streets announce additional London show (2018)

Story by Jack Foley

DUE to popular demand, Mike Skinner and The Streets have announced an additional London show as part of their very special one-off UK tour, The Darker The Shadow The Brighter The Light, for April 2018.

He will now perform seven dates across the UK, including three huge shows at London O2 Academy Brixton on April 25, 26 and 27.

Making his highly anticipated return to the live music circuit, The Streets will perform all the greatest hits from his extensive back catalogue of iconic albums, including The Hardest Way To Make An Easy Living, Everything is Borrowed, Computers and Blues, A Grand Don’t Come For Free and Original Pirate Material.

Having last toured back in 2011 with the Computers & Blues UK tour, it will be the first time that The Streets have performed live in seven years.

Speaking about his huge comeback, Skinner said: “I’ve missed tour buses very much. Which is the least of the reasons why I have decided to tour The Streets again. The other thing I’ve missed is trying to think up what I’m going to say in the gap between the songs.

“When you DJ they tell you that you don’t need a tour bus and you don’t need to think up things to say between the songs. But seriously, it’s been long enough. With my Tonga parties, the new rap and grime MC’s I have been producing and the DJing, I have been living with music since making The Streets for nearly as long as I made The Streets.

“I’m not the guy smoking in the car anymore though, I have become the guy in the club, so I hope I will be excused for putting on after parties in nightclubs after every show.”

Tickets go on general sale at 9am on Friday, October 13.

The UK tour dates are (all April 2018)

19 – Birmingham O2 Academy
20 – Glasgow O2 Academy
21 – Manchester O2 Apollo
23 – Leeds O2 Academy
25-27 – London O2 Academy Brixton

Moose Blood announce March 2018 UK tour

Moose Blood

Story by Jack Foley

CURRENTLY hard at work recording the follow up to their highly acclaimed, top 10 album Blush, Moose Blood have announced a run of shows for March 2018.

They will be joined by The Dangerous Summer and special guests to be announced on all shows.

The band will play a total of seven shows, culminating at London’s iconic Roundhouse.

Tickets go on sale Friday, October 13 at 9am.

Exclusive signed album pre-order / show tickets offers will also be available!

*The UK tour dates are (all March 2018)

2 – Nottingham, Rock City
3 – Manchester Academy
5 – Glasgow, QMU
6 – Newcastle, O2 Academy
8 – Birmingham, O2 Institute
9 – Bristol, O2 Academy
10 – London, Roundhouse

Moose Blood are currently in the USA recording their new album with long-time collaborator Beau Burchell (Saosin, The Bronx) and are also touring with A Day To Remember.

These dates culminate in a sold out headline show in Los Angeles at the Troubadour on October 20.

Bryan Ferry announces 2018 UK tour

Story by Jack Foley

BRYAN Ferry has announced his first major UK headline tour since his celebrated London Palladium shows in 2016.

The past few years have been extremely busy for Ferry, with a worldwide tour and release of his first solo live album.

Recorded during the 2015 Avonmore Tour, Bryan Ferry Live 2015 features songs from his highly acclaimed latest album, Avonmore, and classic hits from the Bryan Ferry and Roxy Music back catalogue.

This year has seen Ferry tour all across North America with his incredible live show.

Tickets for Bryan Ferry’s newly announced go on sale Friday, October 13 at 10am.

The UK tour dates are (all April and May 2018)

April

13 – Manchester O2 Apollo
15 – Newcastle City Hall
17 – Glasgow Royal Concert Hall
19 – Edinburgh Usher Hall
25 – Bristol Colston Hall
27 – Oxford New Theatre
29 – Birmingham Symphony Hall

May
3 – London Eventim Apollo (Hammersmith)

Macklemore announces first UK shows in 10 years (2018)

Macklemore

Story by Jack Foley

MACKLEMORE has announced plans for The Gemini UK Tour in support of his upcoming solo album, his first in over 10 years.

The three dates will provide fans with their first time to see Macklemore perform his new album. They include a night at London’s Brixton Academy in April.

Tickets go on sale on Friday, October, 13 at 9am.

The viral video for hit single Glorious, starring Macklemore’s 100-year-old grandmother, has over 30 million views in less than a month, while the video for Marmalade, starring a Mini Macklemore and a Lil Lil Yachty, was viewed over 11 million times in less than a week.

Glorious continues to climb the charts, Top 40 radio, Billboard’s Hot 100, Spotify’s Global Top 50, racking up 1.8 million streams a day and has remained in the top 15 on the iTunes Hip Hop chart since it was released.

The UK tour dates are (all March and April 2018)

March 2018
30 – Victoria Warehouse, Manchester

April 2018
6 – O2 Academy Brixton, London
8 – O2 Academy, Birmingham

Dolly Parton to release her first children's album for charity

Dolly Parton

Story by Jack Foley

WORLD renowned entertainer Dolly Parton will release I Believe In You, her very first children’s album written and recorded especially for children (and those young at heart), this Friday, October 13, 2017.

The album will be released on Dolly Records/RCA Nashville, and all 14 tracks are written and performed by Dolly Parton.

Parton has also announced that she will be reading a much-loved CBeebies bedtime story, which will be broadcast on October 25. She will be narrating Dog Loves Books by Louise Yates.

All proceeds from I Believe In You will go to Dolly Parton’s Imagination Library, a non-profit organisation that promotes early childhood literacy by providing free books from birth to age 5, making this Dolly Parton’s very first album for charity.

Since its inception in 1996 in Dolly’s hometown of Sevierville, Tennessee, the Imagination Library has expanded into four countries serving more than one million children by providing a brand new, age-appropriate book each month. In North America, every child’s first book is the classic, Little Engine that Could.

Parton commented: “My first album was released 50 years ago and it’s been an amazing 50 years since then. I am very excited that now I’m coming out with my first children’s album in all of those 50 years. I’m proudest of all that all of the proceeds from this CD will go to the Imagination Library.

“It’s been 20 years since the Imagination Library was launched. We’ve seen 100 million books get into the hands of children and hopefully there will be many more.”

Dolly previewed I Believe In You in Nashville this August, in front of an audience of kids. She performed three songs featured on the new album, I Believe in You, Makin’ Fun Ain’t Funny and Brave Little Soldier, along with reading her Coat Of Many Colors book.

I Believe in You will be released on Friday and is available to pre-order on CD and digitally

Tracklisting:

  1. I Believe in You
  2. Coat of Many Colors (new recording)
  3. Together Forever
  4. I Am a Rainbow
  5. I’m Here
  6. A Friend Like You
  7. Imagination
  8. You Can Do It
  9. Responsibility
  10. You Gotta Be
  11. Makin’ Fun Ain’t Funny
  12. Chemo Hero
  13. Brave Little Soldier
  14. Bonus track spoken audio: Coat of Many Colors (book read by Dolly Parton)

Sasha to bring Refracted:Live to London's Roundhouse (2018)

Story by Jack Foley

SASHA has announced two early 2018 Refracted:Live tour dates, in partnership with Late Night Tales.

The shows will take place at London’s iconic Roundhouse on Saturday, February 17, 2018, and at Manchester’s Bridgewater Hall on Sunday, February 18, 2018.

The shows come in response to the record-breaking sell-out success of his May 2017 live shows at The Barbican, when almost 4,000 tickets were snapped up in 90 minutes.

With the limited edition Blu-Ray of that show also selling all 2,000 copies in a few hours, fans will need lightning reflexes to secure tickets for the new dates, available on pre-sale to Sasha’s fans on Wednesday and for general release this Friday, October 13.

Refracted:Live is an electronic show performed live by Sasha and guest musicians along with strings and live vocals, with his music re-imagined as an original score for live venue performance, providing an enthralling immersive experience.

There will also be exciting new material and surprise guests on both dates.

Sasha commented: The moment we walked off stage at The Barbican we were saying ‘we have to do this again’. We didn’t really have a plan in place. We had no idea the response to those shows was going to be so amazing.

“So, this is Round 2, and we’re getting to perform at two more iconic UK venues. We are looking to change the show slightly to incorporate some new music and make these shows as special and unique as the Barbican ones in May. We can’t wait!”

In Refracted:Live, the Welsh producer and Grammy nominee plays live on piano and electronics alongside his core production team (long-time collaborators Charlie May/Spooky, Dennis White/Thermal Bear, and Dave Gardner), with an eight-piece string section, a percussionist and live vocalists.

Sasha has been hard at work in the studio and his new track, True, drops on Late Night Tales on October 13. Featuring London-based band Dems’ haunting vocals, the emotive style echoes the shimmering soundscapes of Scene Delete, infused with the innovative flair of a musician currently at the top of his creative game.

“I’ve been really excited about this record for some time,” continued Sasha. “When we originally got the vocal back from Dems I instantly knew it was something special. We just needed to find the right project for it. I’m looking forward to it being part of the new show along with a lot of new material.”

Tickets for Refracted:Live will be available on pre-sale to Sasha’s fans on Wednesday, October 11, with general ticket sales available from 10am on Friday, October 13.