Follow Us on Twitter

A Fine Frenzy - One Cell In The Sea

A Fine Frenzy, One Cell In The Sea

Review by Jack Foley

IndieLondon Rating: 4 out of 5

A FINE Frenzy is 22-year-old Seattle born singer-songwriter Alison Sudol and listeners should expect an album that reflects her early influences – from Aretha Franklin and Ella Fitzgerald – coupled with Beth Orton-style piano driven arrangements. In other words, a really good listen!

Sudol’s vocals are the main selling point. They’re beautifully lush, drifting between moments of aching sweetness and moody introspection. Indeed, it’s not a stretch to say that they contain the sort of sweeping emotional highs and lows that would benefit the musical montage sequences of shows like Grey’s Anatomy.

When she’s happy, you kind of feel happy. When she’s sad, you may want to shed a tear. Not everything on this debut album works, of course. The occasional ballad (such as Near To You) is a little over-wrought.

But when she gets the formula right, hearts may well melt. Album opener and former single Come On, Come Out is, well, a fine introduction. Melodic, piano-based arrangements set against those smooth vocals ease you into a generally feel-good state of mind. The uplifting chorus is a real heart-warmer.

Further highlights then come from the likes of the tender, acoustic-driven Whisper, which really is as delicate as its name suggests; You Picked Me, a celebration of positivity that finds Sudol adopting a lush vocal style that hits some thrilling melodic highs; and Almost Lover, which finds her at her most forlorn and heartbreaking.

Think Of You, meanwhile, is wrapped in the sort of trance-like melody that Imogen Heap might employ, while Ashes And Wine has a dusky quality that’s great for just kicking back and listening to.

Liar, Liar is another firm favourite, opening in ear-catching style (with an accordian), and unfolding into another song of immense beauty (the keen sense of melody being neatly offset by the biting lyrics).

Last Of Days, meanwhile, is another well-realised song, slow-building its way to a fine chorus.

We could continue, but we think you already have the gist. A Fine Frenzy is a great debut album that marks the welcome arrival of a major new talent. You should definitely take the time to get acquainted.

Download picks: Come On, Come Out, Almost Lover, Last of Days, You Picked Me

Track listing:

  1. Come On Come Out Come On Come Out
  2. Minnow And The Trout
  3. Whisper
  4. You Picked Me
  5. Rangers
  6. Almost Lover
  7. Think Of You
  8. Ashes And Wine
  9. Liar Liar
  10. Last Of Days
  11. Lifesize
  12. Near To You
  13. Hope For The Hopeless
  14. Borrowed Time