Follow Us on Twitter

AC/DC: Iron Man 2 OST - Review

Iron Man 2 OST

Review by Jack Foley

IndieLondon Rating: 3 out of 5

FAIR play to AC/DC, they’ve landed on their feet with this gig. Thanks to a unique collaboration between Marvel Studios and Columbia Records, choice moments from the band’s back catalogue will be featured throughout the blockbuster sequel.

In total, 15 classic AC/DC songs from 10 of the band’s studio albums, ranging from 1976 to 2008, feature on the soundtrack and provide a loud, suitably brash accompaniment to the movie (which laid its ground rules by using Black Sabbath’s Iron Man in the original).

It’s headed by Shoot To Thrill, a song that was originally recorded for the band’s 50-million selling album Back In Black (one of the best selling albums of all time), and much of the pre-release focus has been centred around that song and its video (shot in Buenos Aires during the band’s highly acclaimed Black Ice World Tour and featuring loads of Iron Man 2 footage).

But while that track will almost certainly enjoy a new lease of life, the remainder of the soundtrack could just as well serve as a greatest hits collection of big stadium-filling rock moments, from Back In Black, with its distinct guitar riffs, powerhouse solos, to Thunderstruck, with its delicious opening riffs and chanted backdrop, right down to final track Highway To Hell (surely one of the most anthemic of all road trip rock tracks).

The only problem with the album, however, is that unlike most soundtracks – and particularly the big ones accompanying most mainstream films – there’s no diversity. Often the pleasure of a really good soundtrack is the way it mixes up popular selections with music from new, sometimes undiscovered or off the radar bands.

Iron Man 2 is a straight up rock collection that works within the confines of Favreau’s exciting vision for the franchise, but fails to carry much appeal beyond the movie unless you’re a diehard AC/DC fan.

One, two, even five tracks across a 15 track compilation might be acceptable, but a soundtrack dominated by one band becomes a collectors’ piece for fans of that band only. Hence, while undoubtedly a unique movie collaboration… its appeal feels strictly limited, especially since AC/DC don’t offer that much diversity in their sound.

Download picks: Shoot To Thrill, Back In Black, Thunderstruck, War Machine, Highway To Hell

Track listing:

  1. Shoot to Thrill
  2. Rock ‘N’ Roll Damnation
  3. Guns for Hire
  4. Cold Hearted Man
  5. Back in Black
  6. Thunderstruck
  7. If You Want Blood (You’ve Got It)
  8. Evil Walks
  9. T.N.T.
  10. Hell Ain’t a Bad Place to Be
  11. Have a Drink on Me
  12. The Razor’s Edge
  13. Let There Be Rock
  14. War Machine
  15. Highway to Hell