Follow Us on Twitter

Aim: Independent Music Awards - 2013 nominations shortlist revealed

Story by Jack Foley

THE Association of Independent Music is pleased to announce the nominees for the third annual AIM Independent Music Awards.

Revealed by Xfm’s John Kennedy at London’s Gibson Guitar Studio, the list highlights the diversity and creative talent of independent music in 2013.

The health and diversity of the current independent music scene is writ large with a total of 36 artists in the running for nine artist awards. Macklemore and Ryan Lewis and 4AD act Daughter lead nominations, with three nods each.

The full list of nominees is:

Best Live Act (in association with The Fly)
Bellowhead (Navigator)
Bonobo (Ninja Tune)
Enter Shikari (Ambush Reality/[PIAS] Recordings)
Johnny Marr (New Voodoo)
The National (4AD)

Independent Breakthrough of the Year (sponsored by 7digital)
The 1975 (Dirty Hit)
Daughter (4AD)
Macklemore & Ryan Lewis (Macklemore LLC)
Palma Violets (Rough Trade)
Passenger (Nettwerk)
Public Service Broadcasting (Test Card Recordings)

Hardest Working Band or Artist
Alt-J (Infectious)
The Computers One Little Indian)
Enter Shikari (Ambush Reality/[PIAS] Recordings)
Frankie & the Heartstrings (Wichita)
Sam Lee (Nest Collective)

Best ‘Difficult’ Second Album (in association with Xfm)
Ghostpoet – Some Say I So I Say Light ([PIAS] Recordings)
John Grant – Pale Green Ghosts (Bella Union)
Major Lazer – Free The Universe (Because Music)
Villagers – {Awayland} (Domino)
The xx – Coexist (XL Recordings)

Best Small Label (sponsored by Disc Manufacturing Services)
Alcopop! Records
Gringo Records
Rocket Girl
Too Pure Singles Club

Special Catalogue Release of the Year (in association with Amazon)
Bonobo – The North Borders (Ninja Tune)
Interpol – Turn On The Bright Lights 10th Anniversary Edition (Matador)
The Horrors – Higher (XL Recordings)
Various Artists – Kenya Special (Soundway Records)
Various Artists – Scared to Get Happy: A Story of Indie Pop 1980-89 (Cherry Red)

Golden Welly Award for Best Independent Festival
(sponsored by UK Music, in association with AIF and This is Fake DIY)
Hebridean Celtic Festival
In The Woods
Truck Festival
Y Not Festival

Independent Video of the Year (Sponsored by Vevo)
Childhood – Solemn Skies (Marathon Artists)
David Byrne & St Vincent – Who (4AD)
Django Django – WOR (Because Music)
Grimes – Genesis (4AD)
Macklemore & Ryan Lewis – Thrift Shop (Macklemore LLC)
The Ramona Flowers – Lust & Lies (Distiller Records)

Indie Champion Award (sponsored by Consolidated Independent)
Gilles Peterson – BBC 6music
Joe Sparrow – A New Band A Day
John Kennedy – XFM
Lauren Laverne – BBC 6music
Lawrence Montgomery – Rise Music

Independent Track of the Year (Sponsored by Spotify)
Daughter – Youth (4AD)
Jagwar Ma – The Throw (Marathon Artists)
Palma Violets – Best of Friends (Rough Trade)
Passenger – Let Her Go (Nettwerk)
TNGHT – Higher Ground (Warp Records)
Vampire Weekend – Diane Young (XL Recordings)

PPL Award for Most Played New Independent Act
The 2 Bears (Southern Fried)
Alabama Shakes (Rough Trade)
Alt-J (Infectious)
Django Django (Because Music)
Macklemore & Ryan Lewis (Macklemore LLC)

INDEPENDENT ALBUM OF THE YEAR (in association with Record Store Day)
Daughter – If You Leave (4AD)
David Byrne & St Vincent – Love This Giant (4AD)
Ghostpoet – Some Say I So I Say Light ([PIAS] Recordings)
Jagwar Ma – Howlin (Marathon Artists)
John Grant – Pale Green Ghosts (Bella Union)
Jon Hopkins – Immunity (Domino)
Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds – Push the Sky Away (Bad Seed)
Public Service Broadcasting – Inform – Educate – Entertain (Test Card Recordings)
Vampire Weekend – Modern Vampires of the City (XL Recordings)
The xx – Coexist (XL Recordings)

Independent Label of the Year (sponsored by Coutts)
Bella Union
Cooking Vinyl
[PIAS] Recordings
Warp Records