Follow Us on Twitter

Anchorman 2: The Legend Continues OST (Review)

Anchorman 2: The Legend Continues OST

Review by Jack Foley

IndieLondon Rating: 4 out of 5

ADAM McKay, the director of Anchorman 2, has admitted to calling fellow filmmaker Paul Thomas Anderson a “son of a bitch” for taking all the best songs from the late ’70s/early ’80s for his film Boogie Nights. But he has still managed to pull off a decent job of compiling some gems here.

By his own admission, McKay feels like the soundtrack offers “a good bucket-full of songs that still have some life in them”, the type of which “that if you heard them on the radio you’d get a little excited because you’d forgotten about it”.

Hence, intermingled among the odd quote from Will Ferrell’s Ron Burgundy himself are some retro gems – some really well known, others less remembered but still great fun.

Falling into the latter category are the likes of John Waite’s hard rocking Change (the type of song that could have graced any John Hughes or Brat Pack movie from that era) as well as Jay Ferguson’s Thunder Island, which has something of a classic Rolling Stones classic guitar twang about it’s soul rock mix.

Of the more familiar stuff, there’s disco funk courtesy of Hot Chocolate’s still fresh Every 1’s A Winner, hip hop cool as represented by Grandmaster & Melle Mel’s White Lines (Don’t Do It) and Christopher Cross’s Ride Like The Wind.

That latter track also gets covered by Robin Thicke and Burgundy himself – the former laying down some suitably soulful vocals while Burgundy does his best to sabotage and hijack the track for himself (in true idiotic but charming style).

Burgundy does gets his own moment too, with the sweet piano ‘ballad’ Doby – not, as one might initially suspect, an ode to his son in the film; but an ode to an inspirational great white shark. Yes, you read that right.

The most important thing to stress about this collection of songs, though, is that it amuses, entertains and makes you feel (for the most part) like getting up and dancing. It’s a great collection of songs, with the occasional comedy gems thrown in (a snippet from Brick here, an observation from Brian Fantana there, and even a whammy from champ tossed in for good measure).

So, don’t just have a great soundtrack party, have a Ron Burgundy soundtrack party.

Download picks: Ride Like The Wind, Change, Every 1’s A Winner, Shilo, White Lines (Don’t Do It), Thunder Island

Track listing:

  1. A Message From Ron Burgundy
  2. Ride Like the Wind – Christopher Cross
  3. Change – John Waite
  4. Ladykillers – Ron Burgundy & Brian Fantana
  5. Every 1’s a Winner – Hot Chocolate
  6. Shilo – Neil Diamond
  7. Life Isn’t a Fairy Tale – Ron Burgundy & Walter Burgundy
  8. White Lines (Don’t Do It) – Grandmaster & Melle Mel
  9. This Is It – Kenny Loggins
  10. Another Message From Ron Burgundy
  11. Thunder Island – Jay Ferguson
  12. Doby – Ron Burgundy
  13. Whammy Chicken – Champ Kind
  14. I’D Really Love to See You Tonight – England Dan & John Ford Coley.
  15. Muskrat Love – Captain & Tennille
  16. Rv Reminiscing – Ron Burgundy & Brick Tamland
  17. Lonesome Billy – Peter Tevis & Ennio Morricone
  18. Have an American Night – Ron Burgundy
  19. Hold Your Head Up – Argent
  20. A Final Message From Ron Burgundy