Follow Us on Twitter

Ane Brun – It All Starts With One (Deluxe) (Review)

Ane Brun, It Starts With One (Deluxe)

Review by Jack Foley

IndieLondon Rating: 4 out of 5

ANE Brun’s deluxe version of her award-winning album It All Starts With One isn’t just another cash-in excuse. Rather, it’s a worthwhile expansion of an already memorable listen.

The LP offers a further 10 tracks totalling 40 minutes of music that alone would be worthy of the praise heaped upon the single disc version.

In contrast to the more orchestral arrangements there, the extra tracks are designed to showcase Brun’s determination to explore new musical realms with each release and – together with the original – represent every song recorded during the album’s studio sessions.

Many of the songs are delicate, piano based compositions that allow a platform for Brun’s often remarkable, sometimes ethereal voice at its most tender.

They include Dirty Windshield, One Last Try and Another World (originally recorded by Antony & The Johnsons and first performed by Brun alongside ABBA’s Benny Andersson at 2009’s environmentally themed No More Lullabies concert).

Also present is Queen And King, recorded late at night at a studio party where friends – dubbed the Star Vox Ensemble – embellish proceedings with their gospel voices, and a moving cover of Argentine folk legend Ariel Ramirez’s Alfonsina Y El Mar, which brings the second disc to a close in memorable fashion.

Take It Slow, meanwhile, is an intimate, folk-suffused slice of romance, and Du Gråter Så Store Tåra (English Version) finds her backed by just an acoustic guitar (a Norwegian version is available on the digital release).

Completing the package is an extraordinary makeover of Built To Spill’s I Would Hurt A Fly (from 1997’s seminal Perfect From Now On album) that sees the original’s intense rock transformed into a heart-rending piano and cello lament.

All of the new tracks resonate in some way despite the often sparse nature of the instrumentals. But that only serves to make Brun’s vocal prowess more striking, while enabling her to invest the recordings with just the right amount of emotion – be it happy or sad, accordingly.

The original album, meanwhile, still continues to deliver some great tracks that are worth re-visiting or owning for the first time.

These include the tender opening of These Days, the haunted but
entrancing Worship (featuring a near-perfect collaboration with Jose Gonzalez) and the bouncing, melody-strewn Do You Remember, which brings a welcome ray of sunshine pop.

One, meanwhile, has some lovely piano and string arrangements to accompany its lyrics, while Oh Love is similarly stripped back but backed by some warm acoustics.

Download picks: These Days, Worship, Do You Remember, One, Oh Love, Alfonsina Y El Mar, Take It Slow, One Last Try, I Would Hurt A Fly

Track listing:
Disc 1

  1. These Days
  2. Words
  3. Worship (feat Jose Gonzalez)
  4. Do You Remember
  5. What’s Happening With You And Him
  6. Lifeline
  7. One
  8. The Light From One
  9. Oh Love
  10. Undertow

Disc 2

  1. Dirty Windshield
  2. Take It Slow
  3. One Last Try
  4. Queen And King
  5. Du Grater Sa Store Tara (English version)
  6. I Would Hurt A Fly
  7. Another World
  8. Alfonsina Y El Mar