Follow Us on Twitter

Annie Mac Presents 2013 - Review

Annie Mac Presents 2013

Review by Jack Foley

IndieLondon Rating: 2 out of 5

IF EVER proof were needed of the blandness of a lot of modern dance music, then Annie Mac Presents 2013 offers up yet more dreary proof.

The Dublin DJ has drawn from a typically diverse range of artists for her 2013 compilation but somehow manages to make most of them sound the same.

There’s a big emphasis on anaemic electronic sounds and too many occasions when a big, sassy soul vocal is employed in the background (or foreground, a la Black Box). Quite often, the music blurs into one.

Exceptions arrive in the form of Haim’s Falling (a Duke Dumont remix), which actually manages to retain some of Haim’s character within the mix, Tensnake’s 58 8PM (which comes over as a late night smooth groover thanks to a slower, more sultry pace), and Sam Smith’s Safe With Me, which again manages to imprint Smith’s character all over the track.

Wretch 32’s Doing OK, featuring Jacob Banks and a vibe that verges on the calypso in between it’s rapped elements, is also a refreshing change of style (and genre) that puts a welcome smile on the face. But you have to wait a long time for such moments to arrive. And they’re generally all contained within the second CD.

At most other times, though, this either disappoints (as in the case of Laura Mvula’s Green Garden (Dave Invisible Remix), Jessie Ware’s Imagine It Was Us or Chase & Status’s Lost & Not Found), or is just plain forgettable (80% of the rest of the time). Even the second half of the second CD, which noticeably adopts a more come-down vibe, begins to sound the same after a while.

Download picks: Falling (HAIM), Safe With Me (Sam Smith), 58 8PM (Tensnake), Doing OK (Wretch 32)

Track listing:

  1. Need U (100%) – Duke Dumont, A*M*E
  2. Reverse Skydiving – Hot Natured, Anabel Englund
  3. Real – Gorgon City, Yasmin
  4. When A Fire Starts To Burn – Disclosure
  5. Bassline – GotSome, The Get Along Gang
  6. My Love – Route 94, Jess Glynne
  7. Everytime – Grum
  8. Imagine It Was Us – Jessie Ware
  9. Disappearer – Avec, Jake Shears
  10. The Show – Mike Mago
  11. Jack – Breach
  12. Three Letters – Tesfa Williams
  13. The Renegade – Friend Within
  14. Lost & Not Found – Chase & Status, Louis M^ttrs
  15. Waiting All Night (feat. Ella Eyre) – Rudimental, Ella Eyre
  16. Major Happy – Fred V & Grafix
  17. Sun – Koreless
  18. Everything You Never Had (We Had It All) – Breach, Andreya Triana

Disc: 2

  1. Falling – HAIM
  2. So Good To Me – Chris Malinchak
  3. Perfect Form – Cyril Hahn
  4. C O O L – Le Youth
  5. Sonnentanz – Klangkarussell
  6. Survive – Kidnap Kid
  7. Faithful – Jacques Greene
  8. 58 BPM – Tensnake, Fiora
  9. Safe With Me – Sam Smith
  10. Fashion Killa – A$AP Rocky
  11. Doing OK – Wretch 32, Jacob Banks
  12. Soon Come – Shy FX, Liam Bailey
  13. Adorn – Miguel
  14. Can’t Stop – Lulu James
  15. Indecision – Sampha
  16. Green Garden – Laura Mvula
  17. Retrograde – James Blake
  18. Hey Now – London Grammar