Follow Us on Twitter

Anthoney Wright - Feet On The Ground

Anthoney Wright, Feet On The Ground

Review by Jack Foley

IndieLondon Rating: 3.5 out of 5

ANTHONEY Wright may be a latecomer to the music scene, by industry standards, but he’s determined to make up for lost time. Plus, he wears his inspirations on his sleeve… and that’s a good thing.

Rather than pandering to current trends, Wright’s album, Feet On The Ground reflects his early influences, from Al Green and Marvin Gaye to Prince and Aretha.

He has a great soul voice, which he stretches to great effect, whilst singing about contemporary concerns and adding in some distinctly modern back-beats and production values.

The result is nicely retro, but also capable of existing in the genre occupied by the likes of Duffy and company.

Wright, now a practising Buddhist following “a revelatory stay” in Worth Abbey (where he was part of a programme called The Monastery), has an appealing ability to win you over.

Past single releases such as Reset To Zero and No Me Without You are both catchy introductions, with the heavy Motown Reset To Zero, complete with horn section, an absolute blast, and the finger-clicking, hip No Me Without You also cutting a funky strut across the dancefloor.

Album opener Wud If I Cud drops a kick-ass back-beat and lays down the album’s credentials in impressive fashion, while there’s a smooth, Curtis Mayfield style elegance to ballads such as I’m A Fool For You Now which – if anything – embrace the whole retro thing better than the recent covers album by Seal.

The spirit of Aretha and The Commitments is evident on Looking Through The Window, while there’s even traces of more contemporary fare from Gnarls Barkley.

So, while Anthoney Edwards may not be doing a whole lot that’s different or groundbreaking, he does what he does with considerable panache and fans of the retro Motown sounding scene could do a lot worse than checking out what he has to offer.

Download picks: A Little Piece of Everything, Wud If I Cud, Reset To Zero, No Me Without You, Looking Through The Window

Track listing:

  1. Wud If I Cud
  2. Been So Long
  3. Reset To Zero
  4. No Me Without You
  5. I’m A Fool For You Now
  6. Looking Through The Window
  7. Barricades
  8. Bout My Baby
  9. Little Piece Of Everything
  10. On My Own
  11. Tell Me How