Follow Us on Twitter

Arctic Monkeys top NME Awards nominations

Arctic Monkeys

Story by Jack Foley

ARCTIC Monkeys have landed a record seven nominations at this year’s NME Awards, including best British band, best album and best track (for Fluorescent Adolescent).

The Sheffield-based outfit are also in the running for best album artwork and best live band.

The NME Awards are decided by readers of the weekly magazine’s and will be announced at a London ceremony on February 28.

Other bands and artists to feature prominently on the nominations shortlist include Klaxons, who are up for four prizes, and Amy Winehouse, who is in the running for best solo artist as well as villain of the year and worst dressed artist.

Winehouse shares her villain of the year nomination with Prime Minister Gordon Brown, ex-PM Tony Blair and US President George Bush.

Competing against Winehouse for best solo artist are Kate Nash, Jack Penate, Jamie T and Patrick Wolf, while up against the Arctic Monkeys for best British band are Babyshambles, The Cribs, Klaxons and Muse.

The best album category find the Arctic Monkeys pitted against Babyshambles, The Enemy, Klaxons and Radiohead (who will probably be the favourites).

The best international band, meanwhile, is between Foo Fighters, Arcade Fire, The Killers, Kings of Leon and My Chemical Romance, while best new band will be contested between The Enemy, Foals, Joe Lean And The Jong Jang Jong, The Pigeon Detectives and The Wombats.

The full list of 2008 nominees is:

Best British Band
Arctic Monkeys
The Cribs

Best International Band
Arcade Fire
Foo Fighters
The Killers
Kings Of Leon
My Chemical Romance

Best New Band
The Enemy
Joe Lean And The Jing Jang Jong
The Pigeon Detectives
The Wombats

Best Live Band
Arctic Monkeys
The Cribs
Kaiser Chiefs
My Chemical Romance

Best Solo Artist
Kate Nash
Jamie T
Jack Penate
Amy Winehouse
Patrick Wolf

Best Album
Favourite Worst Nightmare – Arctic Monkeys
Shotters Nation – Babyshambles
We’ll Live And Die In These Towns – The Enemy
Myths Of The Near Future – Klaxons
In Rainbows – Radiohead

Best Track
Fluorescent Adolescent – Arctic Monkeys
Flux – Bloc Party
Men’s Needs – The Cribs
Lord Don’t Slow Me Down – Oasis
Let’s Dance To Joy Division – The Wombats

Best Video
Teddy Picker – Arctic Monkeys
Flux – Bloc Party
D.A.N.C.E. – Justice
Golden Skans – Klaxons
Teenagers – My Chemical Romance

Best Music DVD
Up The Shambles – Babyshambles
The Song Remains The Same – Led Zeppelin
Unplugged In New York – Nirvana
Lord Don’t Slow Me Down – Oasis
I Told You I Was Trouble – Amy Winehouse

Best Live Event
Carling Weekend: Reading And Leeds Festival
Muse At Wembley Stadium
T In The Park
V Festival

Hero Of The Year
Matt Bellamy
Pete Doherty
Noel Fielding
Ryan Jarman
Thom Yorke

Villain Of The Year
Tony Blair
Johnny Borrell
Gordon Brown
George W Bush
Amy Winehouse

Best Dressed
Pete Doherty
Noel Fielding
Kate Nash
Alex Turner
Gerard Way

Worst Dressed
Johnny Borrell
Pete Doherty
Gerard Way
Amy Winehouse

Best Dancefloor Filler
Flux – Bloc Party
Hummer – Foals
D.A.N.C.E. – Justice
Atlantis To Interzone – Klaxons
Let’s Dance To Joy Division – The Wombats

Best Album Artwork
Favourite Worst Nightmare – Arctic Monkeys
The Good, The Bad And The Queen – The Good, The Bad And The Queen
Sawdust – The Killers
Because Of The Times – Kings Of Leon
Send Away The Tigers – Manic Street Preachers

Best Radio Show
Russell Brand (Radio 2)
Zane Lowe (Radio 1)
Chris Moyles (Radio 1)
Colin Murray (Radio 1)
Jo Whiley (Radio 1)

Worst Album
1973 – James Blunt
The Trick To Life – The Hoosiers
Spirit – Leona Lewis
Life In Cartoon Motion – Mika
Blackout – Britney Spears

Worst Band
30 Seconds To Mars
Fall Out Boy
The Hoosiers
My Chemical Romance
Panic At The Disco

Best TV Show
The Mighty Boosh
Never Mind The Buzzcocks
The IT Crowd

Best Film
Hot Fuzz
Pirates Of The Caribbean: At World’s End
The Simpsons Movie

Sexiest Man
Howlin’ Pelle Almqvist
Julian Barrett
Noel Fielding
Nicky Wire
Patrick Wolf

Sexiest Woman
Jenny Lewis
Kylie Minogue
Hayley Williams
Rachael Yamagata

Best Venue
Brixton Academy
Manchester Apollo
Glasgow Barrowlands
London Astoria
Wembley Stadium

Best Website

Best Band Blog
Foals (
Lilly Allen (
Lightspeed Champion (
Radiohead (
The Streets (

Best Music Blog
The Hype Machine (
The Modern Age (
Nothing But Green Lights (
Spinner (
Stereogum (

Votes can be cast by visiting NME.COM/awardsnominees