Follow Us on Twitter

Athlete's Black Swan Song to benefit Royal British Legion

Athlete

Story by Jack Foley

ATHLETE release their powerful new single Black Swan Song today (November 9) on Fiction.

The track is a powerful and moving song about the death of Joel’s grandfather.

Joel picks up the story here: “September 1944 in the woods near Arnhem, Holland, my grandfather lay alone and badly wounded struggling to write a farewell letter to his new wife.

My grandfather Major John Pott died in 2005 at the age of eighty four in Lewisham Hospital London (the same hospital my daughter was born in, an experience that inspired the song Wires). After his death I knew I wanted to pay tribute to him in some way.”

Joel and his father David recently paid an emotionally-charged visit to Arnhem to mark the anniversary of the battle there in which Joel’s grandfather – a paratrooper – was severely injured.

After lying in the woods for nearly twenty hours he was taken to a German military hospital and after a heroic, but thwarted attempt to escape on crutches, he remained in a POW camp until released by the Americans in April 1945.

A documentary by Richard Edkins following Joel’s trip receives its first public showing today.

It can be seen online via Athlete.mu Facebook and in an exclusive partnership with the Royal British Legion at 1pm GMT (8am EST) and 8pm GMT (3pm EST).

Proceeds from the sale of the single will be donated to the Royal British Legion and Athlete will perform the song live at their Silence In The Square event at Trafalgar Square to mark Armistice Day.

Black Swan Song is the second single to be taken from the Ivor Novello-winning four piece’s fourth album Black Swan.

The South Londoners have sold more than a million copies of their three hit albums and topped the UK album and airplay charts.

Find out why Black Swan Song is our single of the week