Follow Us on Twitter

Atlantic Jaxx Recordings - A Compilation Volume 2

Atlantic Jaxx Recordings, Vol 2

Review by Jack Foley

IndieLondon Rating: 2 out of 5

THE Atlantic Jaxx compilation series is designed as a showcase of dance music from the label of the same name, which is run by Simon and Felix from Basement Jaxx.

Hence, fans of Basement Jaxx will probably best appreciate the blend of house and disco soul that epitomises most of what’s available.

Sadly, the mix isn’t a great one given the sheer volume of dull tracks on offer that quickly blend into one monotonous sound.

Respite comes in the form of the Cuban carnival influenced U Took My Love, which offers a lively, sweaty workout for any fans of salsa or rumba.

Or the far more low-key and sexy soul number, I Love You Babe featuring Gwyn Jay Allen. It’s a good track for drifting into bed with, or candlelit romancing.

Basement Jaxx’s Betta Daze is another sweaty performer that is driven by fast and furious beats and another Latin-based sound, while their Urban Haze brings things to a suitably ambient close.

But the rest of the tracks fade from memory all too quickly.

Some, like We R Computa emerge as sub-standard attempts to ride the Daft Punk wave, but most are just generic and bland dance-floor fillers that fail to do justice to the otherwise talented Simon and Felix.

For that reason, it’s probably best to avoid this latest compilation.

Track listing:

  1. Intro/City People – Basement Jaxx
  2. U Took My Love – Basement Jaxx
  3. Venga Chica – Afro Fiesta
  4. Help Myself – Housebreakerz (1)
  5. We R Computa – Basement Jaxx # Do You – Sung, Yen
  6. Holdin’ Me – Hector, Sharlene
  7. I Love You Babe – Allen, Gwyn Jay
  8. Betta Daze – Basement Jaxx
  9. Don’t Stop – Linton, Phil
  10. Get Down Get Horny – Basement Jaxx
  11. Berimbal – Bazil X. Plozian
  12. Urban Haze – Basement Jaxx