Follow Us on Twitter

Beastie Boys - The Mix-Up preview & videos

Beastie Boys

Preview by Jack Foley

WHO would have thought that a punk band thrown together for its bass player’s 17th birthday party would evolve into one of the most influential and groundbreaking successes of its time?

Certainly not the then-teenage Beastie Boys, yet the band’s 25-year-and-counting career has logged 40 million in sales, two Grammy awards, the MTV Video Vanguard Lifetime Achievement award, four #1 albums – including the first hip hop album ever to top the Billboard 200, the band’s 1986 debut full length, Licensed To Ill, and countless sold out world tours, magazine covers and TV appearances.

With the release of the all-instrumental The Mix-Up, Beastie Boys throw listeners a curveball reminder of the one constant throughout the band’s 25-year-and-counting career: reinvention.

The Mix-Up features Diamond, Horovitz and Yauch back on drums, guitar and bass, with able assistance from Keyboard Money Mark and longtime percussionist Alfredo Ortiz, as they hit the restart button once again for another career landmark: Beastie Boys’ first ever full length offering of all-new, all-original instrumental recordings.

Sure to please fans of the instrumental cuts from Check Your Head and Ill Communication compiled for the cult hit The In Sound From Way Out!, The Mix-Up finds NYC’s favourite sons drawing on one of their arsenal’s primary strengths and pushing it into bold new directions as they prepare and contemplate their next move.

Watch Off The Grid video
Windows™ High | Windows™ Low

Real™ High | Real™ Low

Watch The Rat Cage video
Windows™ High | Windows™ Low

Real™ High | Real™ Low

The complete track listing for The Mix-Up is:

  1. B For My Name
  2. 14th St. Break
  3. Suco De Tangerina
  4. The Gala Event
  5. Electric Worm
  6. Freaky Hijiki
  7. Off The Grid
  8. The Rat Cage
  9. The Melee
  10. Dramastically Different
  11. The Cousin Of Death
  12. The Kangaroo Rat