Follow Us on Twitter

Beck unites with Danger Mouse for new LP


Story by Jack Foley

BECK has recorded a new album, produced with Brian “Danger Mouse” Burton, to be released this summer on XL Recordings. The as yet untitled album contains 10 new songs.

Having met a few years ago, Beck and Danger Mouse had planned to work together at some point, finally convening last December to do a few songs.

Encouraged by the results, they decided to make an entire record and over the next few months recorded extensively, with the goal of using only 10 pieces in the end.

The result is a tightly assembled group of songs that range in lyrical tone from introspection and social commentary to off the cuff wordplay and lighthearted humour.

Musically, the album’s 10 tracks vacillate between economy and experimentation, hybrid and pop classicism, while consistently manifesting Beck and Danger Mouse’s shared interest in psych-rock, folk, electronic minimalism and orchestration.

The album’s diversity of tone is belied by an emphasis on songwriting and musical concision, with the album clocking in at a little over 30 minutes.

The album represents the first new Beck music since last year’s Grammy- nominated digital single Timebomb.

The new songs also mark the first new material Beck has written since the prolific stretch that produced 2005’s platinum Guero and 2006’s universally acclaimed The Information.

On the live front, Beck returns to the UK in July to play a handful of shows at Southampton Guildhall (1st), Manchester Apollo (2nd) and the Wireless festival in London’s Hyde Park (4th).

Richard Russell, Founder of XL Recordings, said: “Beck is a true original. Not only does he make great music, he inspires others to do the same. We are delighted that he has chosen to work with XL on his new album.

“We can’t wait for everyone to hear the extraordinary music that he and Danger Mouse have made together.”