Follow Us on Twitter

Bloc Party reveal details of third album, Intimacy

Bloc Party

Story by Jack Foley

BLOC Party’s third album, Intimacy, will be available on August 21 and can be pre-ordered now via the band’s website

The album will also be available as a CD which will be delivered from October 27 and feature additional songs. Anyone pre-ordering the CD will also receive the digital album from August 21.

Bloc Party alerted fans to Intimacy‘s existence, as well as their ability to purchase the record instantly, when they hosted their first ever web chat on August 18. The album follows on from the release of their hit single, Mercury, which was released on August 11, 2008.

The album, produced by Paul Epworth (Silent Alarm) and Jacknife Lee (A Weekend in the City), was recorded in Kent and London.

Some songs are Bloc Party at their most wildly experimental, while other tracks are simply classic Bloc Party, fitting in seamlessly amongst fan-favourites Helicopter, Banquet and So Here We Are.

Bloc Party recently played a run of sold-out American shows and are due to play Reading and Leeds Festival this weekend and headline the Hydroconnect Festival on August 30.

The track listing for Intimacy is as follows:

  1. Ares
  2. Mercury
  3. Halo
  4. Biko
  5. Trojan Horse
  6. Signs
  7. One Month Off
  8. Zephyrus
  9. Better Than Heaven
  10. Ion Square