Follow Us on Twitter

Bob Dylan and Mark Knopfler announce London tour dates (2011)

Bob Dylan

Story by Jack Foley

BOB Dylan and his band will tour Europe in October and November, including three London dates at the HMV Apollo Hammersmith in November.

Mark Knopfler and band will also perform.

They will play nine UK shows and one gig in Ireland, marking the first time that they have toured together in the UK.

Knopfler and Dylan first worked together in 1979 on Dylan’s Slow Train Coming album and the Knopfler produced Infidels.

Knopfler’s band for this tour will include Richard Bennett on guitar, Guy Fletcher on keyboards, Jim Cox on piano, John McCusker on violin and cittern, Mike McGoldrick on flute, whistles and pipes, Glenn Worf on bass and Ian Thomas on drums.

Knopfler said on his website: “I’m much looking forward to going out on the road with Bob in such a special year. Also, it was an honor to be asked to record one of Bob’s songs on the forthcoming Amnesty International 50th anniversary album to mark his 70th birthday.”

The UK tour dates are

UK & Ireland Bob Dylan and Mark Knopfler Tour dates:

6 – Dublin, IE The O2
8 – Glasgow, UK Braehead Arena
9 – Glasgow, UK Braehead Arena
10 – Manchester, UK MEN Arena
11 – Nottingham, UK Capital FM Arena
13 – Cardiff, UK Motorpoint Arena
14 – Bournemouth, UK BIC

19-21 – Hammersmith Apollo

Tickets for the three London dates go on sale on Friday, September 23.