Follow Us on Twitter

Brits 2008: Take That and Mika lead nominations

Take That

Story by Jack Foley

TAKE That, Mika and Leona Lewis lead the shortlist of nominations for the 2008 Brit Awards with four nods each.

But they all face tough competition in the various categories from the likes of producer Mark Ronson, singer Kate Nash and rock bands Arctic Monkeys and Kaiser Chiefs – all of whom gained three nominations each.

Take That reformed in 2006 and recently completed an acclaimed European tour but they are pitted against Arctic Monkeys, Kaiser Chiefs, Editors and Girls Aloud in the best British group category.

While Gary Barlow, Howard Donald, Jason Orange and Mark Owen also face Kaiser Chiefs, Arctic Monkeys, Klaxons and Muse in the best British live act category.

Their comeback album Beautiful World – which was actually released in December 2006 but is eligible for this year’s awards – is in the running for best British album, while single Shine completes their nominations for the best singles award.

Mika, meanwhile, is nominated for best British male artist, best single for Grace Kelly, best breakthrough act and best debut album for Life In Cartoon Motion.

And X Factor winner Leona Lewis is also in the running for her debut album as well as best British female artist, best breakthrough act and single, Bleeding Love. She poses Mika’s biggest competition in three of the categories.

Other, more notable, acts to feature among the nominations list include Mercury Prize nominee Bat For Lashes, aka singer-songwriter Natasha Khan, who will be vying for best British female artist and breakthrough act.

While singer-songwriters Richard Hawley and Jamie T are shortlisted for best British male, along with Newton Faulkner, Mika and Mark Ronson.

In the international categories, Kylie Minogue, Foo Fighters, Arcade Fire and The Eagles each received two nominations each/

There will also be further awards presented to newcomer Adele, a who will pick up the critics’ choice award, and former Beatle Sir Paul McCartney, who will collect an award for his outstanding contribution to music.

The nominations were announced at the Roundhouse in Camden and the winners will be revealed at Earl’s Court, in London, on February 20, 2008.

b>See the nominations in full