Follow Us on Twitter

Bullet For My Valentine - Scream Aim Fire

Bullet For My Valentine, Scream Aim Fire

Review by Jack Foley

IndieLondon Rating: 1 out of 5

WELSH noise merchants Bullet For My Valentine look to follow up the massive success of their debut album The Poison with the monstrous Sream Aim Fire – a pile-driver in every sense of the word.

Opening with a pounding drum roll and a gargantuan guitar riff, it’s pretty much full steam ahead from the get-go, with barely a pause for breath or a moment when the foot comes of the accelerator.

What’s clear from the beginning is that Bullet For My Valentine’s two years of touring with the likes of Guns N Roses, Metallica and Iron Maiden have clearly had some effect. Each song reaches for a stadium filling sound, and most come accompanied with the pre-requisite Goth-style wail.

Opening track and title song Scream Aim Fire does exactly what it says on the label and is an unrelenting headbanger that’s sure to go down a storm in live form. Musically, however, it’s a bit of a mess, especially during the supposedly menacing “scream, aim, fire” chorus, which is delivered in supposedly menacing fashion, but which brought about a fit of the giggles from this particular listener!

Eye Of The Storm virtually picks up where Scream finished off, complete with a largely derivative “can you hear the thunder” opening line that gives rise into a song about global warming. Fans will probably insist that Bullet For My Valentine’s songwriting is deeply meaningful and highly intelligent – but lines like “can you feel the lightning” and “let chaos take control” do them no favours on that front.

Hearts Burst Into Fire begins with a low-key intro and suggests a power ballad that’s ripe for chart appeal – but it’s a false dawn that quickly gets loud and generic. Some of the guitar riffs hint at something better but it then meanders lazily into yet another headache inducer.

And so on and so forth. Waking The Demon and Disappear bang, crash and wail about the place, Deliver Us From Evil once again hints at a greater depth that is never fully realised, Take It Out On Me blurs into one obnoxious noise, End Of Days belongs to the end credits of some straight to DVD horror film and Forever And Always harks back to the sort of ’80s cheese of Europe or an American rock band that might find themselves on the American Pie-style frat boy soundtrack.

In short, it’ll probably have you screaming for all the wrong reasons!

Download picks: Last To Know, Goodnight, Forever And Always

Track listing:

  1. Scream Aim Fire
  2. Eye Of The Storm
  3. Hearts Burst Into Fire
  4. Waking The Demon
  5. Disappear
  6. Deliver Us From Evil
  7. Take It Out On Me
  8. Say Goodnight
  9. End Of Days
  10. Last To Know
  11. Forever And Always
  12. Ashes Of The Innocent [bonus track]

  1. I actually hate you

    B44    Feb 6    #
  2. Why is Indie London even reviewing this? You're clearly not going to like a straightforward, unpretentious metal album full of tight playing and clear production are you? The secret's in the site name.

    If it ain't got a glockenspiel and faux-6th form lyrics about Avery Island you guys in Indieland don't wanna know. And to be honest, I doubt even fans of the band would claim their lyrics to be anything more than a carrier for the melodies (and roars); they're not clever, and that really isn't important.

    Honestly, you fashionistas are rather annoying people. Why don't you stop pretending to like music, and just admit that you only really like skinny jeans, haircuts and a coke habit.

    Good day, fans of Radio1.

    Dan    Feb 6    #