Follow Us on Twitter

Cha-Cha - We Are...

Cha Cha, We Are

Review by Jack Foley

IndieLondon Rating: 3.5 out of 5

LONDON newcomers Cha-Cha describe their debut album We Are… as “a cross between dirty pop hymns and offbeat disco rock”. It’s a fitting description and one that serves notice of the arrival of a bright new band.

Cha-Cha are comprised of Blain McGuigan (lead vocals/bass), Alex Cameron Ward (secondary vocals/guitar), and Samuel Garbutt (drums) and they use a variety of synths, noises and looped effects to create catchy but diverse pop records.

Their primary focus is on vocal hooks, driving basslines, jingly guitars and danceable beats, but they seem resolutely determined to make listening to them a pleasurable, often breezy experience. And they quite often succeed.

Album opener and former single Phonographic Love is a classic case in point… a melody-strewn love song that’s built around cute guitar hooks, a disco-infused chorus and a breezy disposition.

It won’t set the world on fire, but it engages… much like the album as a whole.

Cha-Cha – like their name suggests – know how to deliver a catchy melody and a catchy chorus. The Fellowship, for instance, drops a really bubbly one (which verges on calypso)… while

Occasionally, the bass-lines take over, or tracks veer more wholeheartedly towards a disco-pop vibe, but they contain an upbeat vibe even though I personally prefer their more pop-rock moments.

And they can even do folksy… as with the acoustic Bring You Down, which has a melancholy feel that’s equally as endearing (and welcome).

Hence, the bright moments far outweight the ordinary ones… with Juicy Lucy, the brilliantly shimmering Second Chances, the slow-burning Flashlight and the romantic Windows all to be included among the worthy listens (or songs worth tracking down).

Cha-Cha actually first hit the London gig circuit in March 2009 and soon found the demand for their four-track demo CD going way beyond their control. Now signed to newly established Pop Noodle Records, they’re an act to keep an eye on.

Download picks: Phonographic Love, Windows, Second Chances, Flashlight, The Fellowship, Juicy Lucy

Track listing:

  1. Phonographic Love
  2. Sit You Down
  3. The Fellowship
  4. Cherokee
  5. Bring You Down
  6. Seventies Casualty
  7. Juicy Lucy
  8. Second Chances
  9. Flashlight
  10. Windows