Follow Us on Twitter

Cornelius - Sensuous

Cornelius, Sensuous

Review by Jack Foley

IndieLondon Rating: 2.5 out of 5

CORNELIUS – the musician and producer – has developed a reputation for being quirky when delivering his own music.

His fifth studio album Sensuous represents an intriguing development since Point, with the emphasis now firmly on soaring atmospherics, creative soundscaping and ambient flourishes.

Sometimes this gives rise to moments of genuine inspiration, but at others it’s just too quirky and experimental to really provide any satisfaction.

The album opens up in suitably beautiful fashion with the title track Sensuous, a stripped down effort built around simple guitar licks and strange keyboards. It’s achingly simple and puts you into a nicely relaxed state of mind.

But such moments are offset by efforts like Fit Song which don’t really get into sort of groove and wind up sounding slightly too arty for their own good.

The same can be said for tracks like Toner (minimalist, quirky and downright irritating after a while), Gum (with its insistent guitar rhythm and stop-start vocals), and Scum (a track so short and inconsequential you have to wonder why he bothered).

Far better are the likes of Omstart, one of two collaborations with Kings of Convenience, Beep It, a hipper dancefloor filler, and my own personal favourite, Like A Rolling Stone, which drifts over you serenely and conjures images of a Ridley Scott landscape from Blade Runner (not to mention the Vangelis score!). Music is also oddly alluring.

But given that there’s a lot of experimental playing around to wallow through, you have to be a little too patient with the album and it doesn’t immediately lend itself to repeat listens.

Charming in places, then, but mostly just too out there to be really inviting.

Download picks: Sensuous, Omstart, Like A Rolling Stone, Music, Sleep Warm.

Track listing:

  1. Sensuous
  2. Fit Song
  3. Breezin’
  4. Toner
  5. Wataridori
  6. Gum
  7. Scum
  8. Omstart
  9. Beep It
  10. Like A Rolling Stone
  11. Music
  12. Sleep Warm