Follow Us on Twitter

Craig David - Greatest Hits

Craig David, Greatest Hits

Review by Jack Foley

IndieLondon Rating: 2 out of 5

WHEN it comes to listening to Craig David’s Greatest Hits it’s tempting to ask whether he has had any!

But 13 million album sales and 18 out of 18 Top 20 singles would seem to suggest that he has. However, there’s a difference between chart hit and great hit – and listening to this collection of 15 songs tends to confirm my view.

The Southampton-based soulster has certainly had a busy career, having delivered four albums in eight years and landing three Ivor Novello Awards, four MOBOs and two MTV Europe Awards, as well as multiple Grammy and Brit nominations.

But while there is the odd bright moment – most of which stem from his early, more garage-influenced work such as Fill Me In and 7 Days – the album does tend to feel repetitive and, more often than not, bland.

Tracks like What’s Your Flava? and Just My Imagination are tedious listens that conform to rather than set trends. While ballads such as You Don’t Miss Your Water (‘Til The Well Runs Dry) or the acoustic backed Don’t Love You No More (I’m Sorry) tend to grate.

Of the new tracks, Insomnia relies too heavily on a bog-standard mix of synthesizers and vocoder laced vocals that have been over-employed by a lot of contemporary artists, as well as a chorus that’s reminiscent of everyone from Ne-Yo to Lemar.

Where’s Your Love, meanwhile, is an ill-advised trip into trip-hop and grime that features underground grime singer Tinchy Stryder. But it’s appalling.

David’s seminal hit, Walking Away, probably remains his strongest selling point and is the closest thing to great the album has to offer. But in the main, this is a pretty forgettable best of compilation.

Download picks: Walking Away, Fill Me In, 7 Days

Track listing (Deluxe CD & DVD):
Disc: 1

  1. Fill Me In
  2. 7 Days
  3. Rise & Fall (featuring Sting)
  4. Insomnia
  5. What’s Your Flava?
  6. Walking Away
  7. Where’s Your Love (feat Tinchy Stryder)
  8. You Don’t Miss Your Water (‘Til The Well Runs Dry)
  9. Rendezvous
  10. Spanish
  11. All The Way
  12. Just My Imagination
  13. World Filled With Love
  14. Don’t Love You No More (I’m Sorry)
  15. 6 of 1 Thing
  16. Hidden Agenda
  17. This Is The Girl
  18. Rewind
  19. Hot Stuff

Disc: 2

  1. Fill Me In (video)
  2. 7 Days (video)
  3. Walking Away (video)
  4. What’s Your Flava? (video)
  5. Rise & Fall (feat. Sting) (video)
  6. All The Way (video)
  7. Don’t Love You No More (I’m Sorry) (video)
  8. This Is The Girl (feat Kano)(video)
  9. Hot Stuff (Let’s Dance) (video)
  10. Where’s Your Love (video)