Follow Us on Twitter

Crystal Stilts - Alight of Night

Crystal Stilts, Alright of Night

Review by Hedley Jackson

IndieLondon Rating: 1 out of 5

CRYSTAL stilts’ debut album is an atmospheric production from the Brooklyn quintet. Echoing guitars and mumbled vocals rattle around aimlessly to create a rough, distinctive sound.

There’s a deep impression of great space and loneliness in this album. Emotions are well portrayed by the use of instrumentation and vocals.

But the whole album is bland and without any really defining moments. The sound becomes repetitive after about three tracks and doesn’t change throughout all 11 songs.

Crystal Stilts’ best moment is the song Prismatic Room, which has a nice melody and rich chorus. However, the vocal is drowned out by the scatty guitar with endless reverb and the song just doesn’t really take-off at all.

The repetitive rock element has a similar sound to Joy Division without the catchy tunes to go with it. A positive is that the music does have a lot of depth and sounds incredibly vast. The lack of good music to go with it is disappointing.

In sum, Crystal Stilts don’t catch the eye with this debut and rarely impress. Although containing some nice sounds, the songs are very weak.

Download Picks: Prismatic Room

Track Listing:

  1. The Dazzled
  2. Crystal Stilts
  3. Graveyard Orbit
  4. Prismatic Room
  5. The SinKing
  6. Departure
  7. Shattered Shine
  8. Verdant Gaze
  9. Bright Night
  10. Spiral Transit