Follow Us on Twitter

Cute Is What We Aim For - Rotation

Cute Is What We Aim For, Rotation

Review by Hedley Jackson

IndieLondon Rating: 2.5 out of 5

AFTER ascending at a remarkable pace into the spotlight, Cute Is What We Aim For have released their much anticipated second album, Rotation.

With elements of exciting punk/pop/rock music using catchy riffs and punchy choruses, the album has a well produced sheen to it. The songs adhere to the stereotypical American image with Practice Makes Perfect, the opening track and single, symbolising their peak.

Shaant Timothy Hacikyan’s lead vocal delivers the necessary strength and tenacity of a frontman throughout the album, while clever guitar work (power chords galore) and drums create a foot tapping synergy.

The album’s downfall is its lack of depth, as it can run from start to finish without really satisfying. The repetition of the band’s sound gives the feel that the songs flow by as if as one.

Practice Makes Perfect, the album’s first single, is a definite high point. A good guitar introduction with a climbing tempo leads to a heavier, pumping chorus that compliments the power of Shaant’s voice.

The production of the album is to a very high standard, and this stands out where slight tweaks and sample inputs have been strategically placed. This is unsurprising when producer John Feldmann has previously worked with Lost Prophets and Good Charlotte.

However, the sleek feel of the songs can take away the true essence of rock music and this exacerbates that lack of feeling that transpires.

CIWWAF join an already overflowing genre of music amid the likes of Fallout Boy and Hoobastank without ever really bringing anything new to the table. This album, despite having a good musical base and strong vocal input can, at times, feels bland.

Download picks: Practice Makes Perfect, Doctor, Miss Sobriety l UK Album release: July 7, 2008.

Track listing:

  1. Practice Makes Perfect
  2. Doctor
  3. Navigate Me
  4. Loser
  5. Do What You Do
  6. Hollywood
  7. Safe Ride
  8. The Lock Down Denial
  9. Marriage To Millions
  10. Miss Sobriety
  11. Time